You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gold Is Useless

in #gold7 years ago

Hey Ky,

I have been into silver since about 2012. I love the long term fundamentals of the metal - it's utility in electronics as well as the medical field. At the time of my personal investment, I was a student with pretty minimal savings, but I knew there were better things to do with it then let it sit in the bank (this is tripe we're teaching kids at school..bloody compound interest and the wonder of our * blessed * financial institutions). I didn't want to lock myself into a house and be chained to a particular location so I weighed up my options and thought that precious metals were a great option.

Now, I see myself slowly liquidating some of my PM portfolio for cryptocurrencies. Steemit serves utility for my creative endeavours and is solely responsible for me regaining passion in my writing over the last month. Mt fantasy saga has regular contributions and my readership is growing every day. It's thrilling. I'm heavily invested in DigiByte for the long haul - it's scalability is unrivalled and it's unlikely to be valued in stupid numbers which can often scare away would-be users. I think the end goal for DigiByte is to have a token worth of approximately $1. Despite being able to buy a fraction of an ounce of gold or bitcoin for that matter, people still think it's too expensive to buy. They're not saying it because they think it's overvalued, they're saying it because they don't seem to be able to wrap their head around being able to own a 'bit' of something. So that's some of the logic I have behind why I like DigiByte (among the other security and payment features).

My interest has also extended to Golem and MaidSafeCoin as new ways to share computing power and for decentralising the internet as a whole, moving away from a few very exposed servers. I should have more invested in both of these coins.

The more I read about bitcoin in the mainstream, the more I think the public have no idea about what's to come. I'm not a software engineer, know nothing about coding, but I do give those who do know, the credit they deserve for becoming the agents of change over the coming decades.

Thanks for your insights into gold and it's wavering post as a store of value.

Cheers,
@nickmorphew