Taking indefinite break from Steemit

in #goodbye5 years ago

gameover3862774_1280.jpg

So, for the few flesh and blood people who see this, you probably saw this coming if you were trying to follow my channel. It's kinda stalled out, and not because I don't have content to post. It's been two reasons, mainly. The first is I've been both busy with work while also being varying degrees of sick, and the second reason...

I just don't see a future on Steemit.

Most of my upvotes I believe to be bots. I'm sure people will occasionally leave an upvote without commenting, but I do not think people consistently upvote my posts, week after week, only to never leave a comment. There has always been a strong push for automation and bots on Steemit, and it's gotten to the point where I don't see it as a sustainable platform. The fact that basic income was touted at one point(no idea if that's still a thing) means that the already volatile currency will likely inflate itself into irrelevancy.

All of that is bad enough, but then you start to see a clear anti-creator bias. Several other creators that I knew have jumped ship, and I've been told on other platforms that people used to be on Steemit, but had left for one reason or another. This leakage of the core user base, combined with horrendous onboarding procedures last I checked, creates a platform that can only spiral.

On an entirely unrelated note, I'm really not a fan of the highly segmented form that Steemit was built around. It seems most communication took place on Discord rather than Steemit itself. Which is weird, considering Steemit is supposed to be a SOCIAL MEDIA platform. If people using your platform, which was designed to be social in nature, are going elsewhere to socialize, you might just be doing something wrong.

It's also really unfortunate that Discord seemed to be the popular choice. I can't stand Discord's format, and only use it begrudgingly when the situation demands it. Steemit was one of those few situations, and frankly I'll be glad to be done with it. I enjoyed the conversations, but I hate signing up for one platform and being forced to use another for most of my communication.

I'll try to check back every now and then for messages, but for the foreseeable future, this will be my last post. It's been real.

Sort:  

Yes it is sad to see some people's posts and the amount they get for it - then I wish some bots would find me also hahaah - Stay safe

I'm actually not at all concerned with what other people make. In fact, I'm happy for those few people who can make a decent living at this sort of thing.

The problem I have is that the entire monetization structure seems to be badly designed, and the prevalence of bots means people get a lot of non-organic attention. Overall, I don't think it can sustain itself long term, so I don't want to keep investing my time into it when it may all be for naught.

Congratulations @rhethypo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @rhethypo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience