You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DMV: A Study in Stupidity

in #government8 years ago

here in the uk it is very expensive business to obtain a driving licence. with multiple courses in the name of safety creating a whole industry of instructors examiners and no end of meaningless paper pushing. it is not uncommon for new drivers to fail our driving test multiple times.with the only option being to pay the fees again , book another appointment and keep churning through the system until you get a pass. when I moved to a small town called bear river nova scotia canada I realized the test was just a simple form to fill a few dollars and a quick drive around the block . my wife and son also paid the fee and passed the test 1st time with no traffic on the road it was too easy! as uk citizens we are required by law to get the Canadian licence if staying there any length of time and is valid for five years. the great thing is to my sons delight it is also valid back in the uk Europe and the states so now travels back there every five years to renew it having a holiday at the same time. when in Canada I hand over a uk licence if stopped by the cops when in uk show the Canadian one what ever happens I enjoy being different and gaming there own system .it,s not totally non compliance but my was of resisting the controls over me wherever I am at the time . its always handy to have one or two back ups. I have even thought you could start a whole new business flying people to easy pass places who are having trouble passing a driving test in there own over crowded city/ country who desperately need them to function. there is always a positive spin other than just obey and comply i like tossing spanners in the works legally .

Sort:  

In the '70s I wanted to list my name in the phone book as Donald Duck because that was my nick name. MABELL refused citing copyright infringement. I changed by request to Don L. Duck and they agreed. Also, I found a way to stop filing the income tax form that worked by gaming the system.