No Matter What

in #gradnium2 years ago (edited)


Image source
This is a flash story that I wrote three years ago. The goal of a flash story is to have a very low word count, start in the middle of the action and end with a twist. While this story doesn't really end with a twist, rereading it today inspired me to share it with you. Enjoy, "No Matter What."


I whimpered as the sound of gunshots reached my ears. In the darkness my brother’s hand touched my shoulder, a warning and a comfort. Terror gripped me as I heard someone enter the kitchen. I stopped breathing, my eyes wide. I turned, my eyes searching for my brother in the darkness. He put a finger to his lips and mouthed: “no matter what." I gripped my doll tightly to my chest and I heard the thud of searching boots. All of the sudden, light blinded me as the cabinet my brother was in was ripped open. I watched in horror as he was roughly picked up by two very large hands, but stayed quiet. Just like he told me. The shooting stopped. I heard voices coming from the main area of the diner. Strange, male voices, gruff and rude. Then my mother's voice, clear and defiant. I didn’t hear what she said, but knowing she was alive made me want to run to her, to ask her what was happening. But she made me promise to stay. No matter what.