Stir Fry Adventure

in #gradnium2 years ago

As a college student who wants to spend less money on food and has a kitchen, I am learning how to cook! Tonight I cooked a meal that I've made once before with my mother, but this time I was on my own. It is a pork stir fry with the original recipe coming from Hello Fresh.

As a child, I was a very picky eater and this was one of the meals that convinced me to trust Hello Fresh recipes to be good, and was therefore a step in me trying new foods. It makes sense now that this would be one of my favorite meals.

Of course, the first stop in any cooking experience is a trip to one (or two) grocery stores.
buying_groceries.jpg

Here I am buying pork, a red pepper, pre-minced garlic (because I was a little lazy today) and a thumb of ginger at the second grocery store I went to.

ingredients.jpg

The ingredients for this meal include -
chives
honey
soy sauce
whole green beans
ground pork
rice (minute rice for me because I still haven't figured out how to cook rice)
red bell pepper
garlic
ginger
oil (olive, vegetable, etc.)

Mishap #1 - of course as soon as I got to the first step of chopping everything, I realized that I didn't have the chives and had to run back to the grocery store.

chopped.jpg

First I washed and chopped/sliced all of the veggies, making sure to slice the bell pepper just like my mother taught me (coronal slices to avoid the middle).

veggies.jpg

Next I put oil into my pan along with the green beans, sliced red bell pepper, and chives. I cooked these until they were softened and just starting to brown them, then removed them from the pan.

Mishap #2 - I definitely got popped by the hot oil! I don't know if the pan was too hot or I put too much in or what, but I ended up changing amount of heat on the pan often. I also definitely burned the chives I worked so hard to get.

garlic_and_ginger.jpg

Next, I peeled and minced the ginger and added the garlic and let them cook for a few minutes.

soy_sauce_and_honey.jpg

After the pork was browned, I added the soy sauce and honey, my favorite part of the meal!

Mishap #3 - when I went to pour out the grease from cooking the pork (which I don't even know if I was supposed to do) the grease went down the side of the pan and got all over the counter. What would cooking be without a little cleaning involved!

finished_in_pan.jpg

After that it was time to toss the veggies back in and I had the stir fry! (And didn't have any more mishaps!)

plated.jpg

Here is the beautiful final product!

clean_plate.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

It's fun to learn cooking on your own. You get to remember what to do right the next time around because of the mishaps or mistakes we commit the first time around. 😆 I hope you didn't got hurt with that oil spill though.

By the way, we have niche communities where you can share your blogs so that your blogs will be seen by other like-minded people. For example, for food-related topics, you can share them in Foodies Bee Hive.

Also, it would be nice as well to check on other blogs and engage with other people here. 😉

Congratulations @chandlerd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!