Melbourne’s Street Art: catch it if you can

in #graffiti6 years ago

One of the most popular sights of Melbourne are all the graffiti/street art laneways. We have some super-duper creative talent in Melbourne.  

If you can brave the tourist junkit and have sharpened your elbows enough, you might just be able to nudge your way to that beautiful shot before someone sprays over it with another artistic gem… or if you’re unlucky, a talentless spray-tagged creation from a kid with an expiring Costco membership (gotta git‘me cans!).  

Here are some beauties I nudged my way to:

Venture out I say! Fine, I will!

There’s the usual laneways you can check out like Hosier Lane, AC/DC Lane, Duckboard Place or Croft Alley which by the way is home to Melbourne’s medical laboratory themed bar called The Croft Institute (you can’t miss it… third dumpster to the right and straight on ‘til morning).  

Buuuut… if you’re adventurous like me and don’t mind braving that strange dark alley (I don’t recommend this, and never accept candy from a stranger it’s not as tasty as he says), you can find some even more amazing art just waiting to be discovered!  

Here are some examples of art I’ve stumbled on outside the tourist traps; but jokes aside, there are plenty to find out in the open so there’s no need to risk your life for some “brick bling” – new hash tag anyone?  

Where did it go?! It was here yesterday!

Too slow grandma wooOOooOoo! The thing I love about taking photos of the street art is that you may not ever see it again (but only the good stuff – taggers can just go get… erm… tagged; I dunno there’s a joke in there somewhere, help me out guys…).  

It’s like I’m a historian – but much more awesome ok; I shop at Uniqlo. I document history through my 1001.5 happy snaps and share it with you guys and my Insta-crew! (0.5 was the not-so-happy-snap of a tourist who stuck their face to my lense – friendly fellow).  

Here is my gone-memorial of past street art you guys missed out on (cue sad music please):  

And due to popular demand…

Here are a few more, but that’s it, you’re just going to have to wait till I go get some more. Don’t make me turn this blog post around… one… twooooooo… thre-!  

So the “Lego Flowers” are the second part to the graffiti in my Introduceyourself post, the humming bird was looking for these babies, very smart aye?!  

Huh?

So, if you enjoyed this type of post, let me know if you’d like to see more! Or not… but still tell me ok? We’re street buddies, street buddies tell their other street buddies the truth…


Sort:  

Great photos. Beautiful graffiti.

Thank you :-)

Awesome mate! Love me some street art and really happy that Melbourne has embraced this and now we are seeing some really talented artists putting up their work!

It has its moments, although sometimes it's sad to see people covering quality streat art with random spraying

Wow, the Melbourne street artists are creepily talented!

Most definitely :-)

Great post 👍

Thanks soo much! 😁

Your welcome.. :)

So beautiful! The street artists wonderful. Thank you for sharing

Glad you enjoyed the post 😁

I LOVE street art, and there are some truly great pieces here! Some very detailed, some just colourful and eye-catching :D Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, I'm hoping to post more in the future :-)

Thank you for the re-steem @photocircle

Congratulations @picmach! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

DAMN! I love the streets of Melbourne, we've only had one trip down there, I'm from sunny QLD. We saw some great stuff but WOW, nothing like these! I guess when you're in the game all the time you're hitting the best of the best.

Truly awesome, keep it coming!!

Hi @jayclar30 yeah it can be hit and miss sometimes with the street art, so it does make it easier when you live here and walk past them all the time :-) you should definitely visit again soon

Yeah, we had a blast down there. We did a month long road trip starting from Cooma (we went to the snow first) all the way down the coast to Cape Bridgewater. We had the best time. We'd like to get down to VIC again, we'd really like to explore The Grampians, we didn't get out that way at all. TAS is on our radar atm though : )

Your photos are amazing, I look forward to seeing more! The whole culture scene in Melbourne is like nothing else! : )

I plan to go to Mona in Tassie, really looking forward to it!

Thanks for the compliment, I'm just deciding what to post next. I kinda want to do a post on White Night...

White Night... that looks amazing!!
Tassie wise... we'd like to take 3 weeks and do the whole island. We're not so much for the busy, I try to avoid the busy. We'll do touristy things but it's the back roads where we have more fun : )

White Night... that looks amazing!!
Tassie wise... we'd like to take 3 weeks and do the whole island. We're not so much for the busy, I try to avoid the busy. We'll do touristy things but it's the back roads where we have more fun : )

White Night is very very busy, although, if you go a lot later in the night the crowds are much less... like 2 or 3am haha

Hi Mark! These are awesome. I love how by capturing this temporary art, it becomes your photographic art. The detail of the hair and eyes in the first image are outrageous. Be careful in dark alleys!

Glad you enjoyed the post :-) thank you, I'm always very careful but Melbourne is pretty safe

Hello. Please follow and upvotes for me. Thank you very much

Congratulations @picmach! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @picmach! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @picmach! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!