Grandpa Boot Camp

in #grandkids6 years ago (edited)

I have to say this week has been very challenging but fun so I thought I would share (or vent a little) JK. We are watching our grandkids, twin 4 year olds (Hope and Serenity) and a 12 year old (Janae). :scream: Before moving back to Montana we were over 2000 miles away so I didn't get to spend too much time with them, my wife did though as she went back to visit much more than I did. Plus I never had kids of my own although I do consider my wife's 2 sons my own, but I came into their lives when they were older so I am a novice when it comes to the experiences (is that the right word?) of parenting young kids. My wife is the real pro, she is absolutely amazing (in more ways than I can even verbalize). She knows all the tricks of dealing with 4 year olds, and she tries to warn me when I am getting in over my head (which is quite often). Like last night when I was going to take them for a walk, she said please use the stroller but Hope and Serenity said no we want to walk. Being that I am so smart I thought what the heck it would be great exercise for them, I mean what could go wrong it is just a walk right? Everything went pretty good and we actually made it back home without a serious incident, but that's when it all went bad. Hope and Serenity decided they wanted to walk more, but poor grandpa was half dead. I really thought I had them convinced to come into the house when all of a sudden (and without warning!) they both bolted in two different directions (which I must add was completely uncalled for). At first, I was like a deer in the headlights, I froze, plus remember I am half dead, right? Once I regained my senses I had to decide which one to go after but remember I am smart so I went after the closest one. So once I caught her (which wasn't easy!) I picked her up and ran after the other one who by this time was hiding. Now, I really sucked at hide and seek so finding her was a bit of a challenge but I eventually did. So after all of that, I did end up getting them back into the house without further incident and it was at this time that my wife said now wouldn't it have been easier to take them in the stroller? She watched the whole thing unfold from the kitchen window..........while laughing........uncontrollably. I still can't understand what was so funny but have decided to listen to her wise advice from now on! I have to say it has only been three days but I feel like I have been enrolled into grandpa boot camp! So, I am learning, maybe the hard way but we only have to watch them for another 11 days 13 hours 55 minutes and 32 seconds.....So I am good!
23621660_381552252284224_2929825990677091409_n.jpg