Grandpa, tell us about the good ole days!!

in #grandpa-goodoledays6 years ago (edited)

So in a previous post, "Don't ring the Bell!" I told about a couple of stories an introduced "Grandpa, tell us about the good ole days"
20180222_132406.jpg
google image

#grandpa-goodoledays

Grandpa had many stories. He lived a good long life.
As a child.. riding in horse drawn wagons, to the family getting their first motor vehicle.
His Grandparents owned a store. And he and his brothers joined the military and went over seas.
He knew alotta people in his life. Experienced alotta things. And from these stories he has handed down telling his kids and grankids , and I want to retell and share.

20180222_132705.jpg
google image

We all have stories , and I want to encourage good and kid-friendly , family tales.
I would love to read about stories your family has told thru the years.
#kidfriendlystories

So the story , I will tell again, about grandpa being five years old and the school bell.

The other day , @mobil-joat , @lil-joat and I (@g-gurl) drove down to take pictures of the ole school house.
FB_IMG_1519243128031.jpg
my photo

Pictured here is where the kids went to school. And there was a bell but the kids wasn't allowed to ring it . Kids used their imagination to come up with things to do, and orneriness along with it.
The older kids , that could reach the pull string, didnt want to be in trouble with the teacher so they came up with the plan to pick up a smaller kid who couldnt reach on his own. And the bell was rang and the humor of what they had done, tickled them kids , as they ran off leaving the small kid to answer to the teacher alone !

Later in the day @lil-joat and @granny48 an myself went back for another picture. I got to thinking @lil-joat is 5 years old now an would make a good visual image of what grandpa looked like, in size, way back then! So here is to our family history, grandpas great grandson standing on the same schoolhouse porch.....
FB_IMG_1519243143733.jpg
my photo

Love to tie together history to the present
@lil-joat says giggling .. maybe people will think that is grandpa standing on the porch!
FB_IMG_1519243135194.jpg
my photo

20180222_132534.jpg
google image

#grandpa-goodoledays to share with the steemit community
And put in the comments the link to your family stories!
I look forward to reading...

Check back with @g-gurl84 for the next "Grandpa, tell me about the good ole days"
(Sneak peek photo)
20180222_134543.jpg
google image

Support the steemit community with upvotes !!

signature_3.gif

Sort:  

I Love this!
Stories of days gone by...

I had the honor of working as a companion to a woman for her years from 90 - 100...joy filled pause...I have many many of her stories written down...

This is honorable work. Thank you.

Thank you! I have always loved history an when its something to do with ones you love it makes it so much more special .

Thats awesome . I really enjoy talking with elderly folks , they have lived many adventures.
A special poeple with ties to our history , like you said, of days gone by.💛