MY FAVORITE BIBLE VERSE (A THREAD)

in #gratefulvibes6 years ago

33754-bible1200.800w.tn.jpg
source
My Favorite Bible Verse - (A Thread) by @csalupado. I was nominated by @sunnylife to stretch the thread to all and sundry. Today is another wonderful day and I would like to share something special from Jeremiah the prophet.
ESV
"18 I have heard Ephraim grieving, 'You have disciplined me, and I was disciplined, like an untrained calf; bring me back that I may be restored, for you are the LORD my God. 19 For after I had turned away, I relented, and after I was instructed, I struck my thigh; I was ashamed, and I was confounded, because I bore the disgrace of my youth.' 20 Is Ephraim my dear son? Is he my darling child? For as often as I speak against him, I do remember him still. Therefore my heart yearns for him; I will surely have mercy on him, declares the LORD. (Jeremiah 31:18-20, ESV)"

KJV
"18 I have surely heard Ephraim bemoaning himself [thus]; Thou hast chastised me, and I was chastised, as a bullock unaccustomed [to the yoke]: turn thou me, and I shall be turned; for thou [art] the LORD my God. 19 Surely after that I was turned, I repented; and after that I was instructed, I smote upon [my] thigh: I was ashamed, yea, even confounded, because I did bear the reproach of my youth. 20 [Is] Ephraim my dear son? [is he] a pleasant child? for since I spake against him, I do earnestly remember him still: therefore my bowels are troubled for him; I will surely have mercy upon him, saith the LORD. (Jeremiah 31:18-20, KJV)"

"NLT"
"[18]I have heard Israel saying, ‘You disciplined me severely, like a calf that needs training for the yoke. Turn me again to you and restore me, for you alone are the lord my God.
[19]I turned away from God, but then I was sorry. I kicked myself for my stupidity! I was thoroughly ashamed of all I did in my younger days.’
[20]“Is not Israel still my son, my darling child?” says the lord. “I often have to punish him, but I still love him. That’s why I long for him and surely will have mercy on him. (Jeremiah 31:18-20, NLT) "

Stay blessed for taking your time to read. I nominate @tj4real @liondani @hope777 to partake in this thread

Sort:  

Jeremiah 31:18-20 (CEV)
18 The people of Israel[a] moan and say to me,
“We were like wild bulls, but you, Lord, broke us,
and we learned to obey.
You are our God— please let us come home.
19 When we were young, we strayed and sinned,
but then we realized what we had done.
We are ashamed and disgraced and want to return to you.”
20 People of Israel, you are my own dear children.
Don’t I love you best of all? Though I often make threats,
I want you to be near me, so I will have mercy on you.
I, the Lord, have spoken. source

Thank you for sharing your favorite bible verse my friend!
I love the line "Though I often make threats, I want you to be near me, so I will have mercy on you. I, the Lord, have spoken". It gives us the feeling of assurance that God is always with us and that we shouldnt be afraid in times of threats as the Lord will always guide and protect us.

May God bless you and your family my friend! Have a great day ahead :)

Amen. Thanks for your version. Haha. Have a wonderful day my friend @csalupado

Amen. Thank you too for passing by. I appreciate your comment.