You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wonders unending

in #gratitude6 years ago

You are on fire today. Great poem. And great images! Do you write all your poems longhand before typing them up? Wonderful. I do the same. I thought I was the only one crazy enough to do that. At least I'm probably the only one crazy enough to use a blackwings pencil, etching all posts and haiku in my field notes memobook, boxes of which I will probably leave to my kids after I am gone so they can scratch their heads at how strange their pop was.

Sort:  

Hey @dbooster, thanks! I used to write everything by hand religiously back in 2011-2013 when I first was writing poetry (kinda stopped after that) and these days I'd estimate I write about 60% by hand. I've learned to like typing for compositions as well, but they definitely turn out more organic when writing longhand first. Especially for more emotional pieces, there's more of a connection when writing by hand. Plus - it's just really satisfying! That's awesome that you keep that! I have a ridiculous amount of writing scraps saved lol... it's funny because I often make edits when typing up that I am too lazy to put back in the original, so you would need the STEEM blockchain + my notes to see the full picture :-D