Moving The Fish Out of The Greenhouse

in #greenhouse3 years ago

Hello, hivers! Welcome to my greenhouse!

Today was another superb day in da U.P., eh!
I think the outside temperature got up to 60F here with sunshine. It was a bit breezy, but that didn't stop me from enjoying the afternoon.

I knew it would be warm in the greenhouse when I went out there, and I was right.

DSCN4330.JPG

I had my helper with me in the greenhouse. She was looking for stray catnip on the pavers...

DSCN4333.JPG

I decided that today would be a good day to take the goldfish out of the greenhouse and put them back in the pond. Of course, I had to move some stuff before I could get on with the process. It's just easier if I get the crap out of the way first.

DSCN4331.JPG

I also uncovered the tank so I could catch the fish. I figured I might as well remove the insulation as well. Then I found my net and started catching the fish.

DSCN4337.JPG

DSCN4339.JPG

After getting 3 of them in the net, I carried them out to the pond and put them in.

DSCN4340.JPG

It took me 3 trips to get them out of the tank and into the pond. I took the metal rack off the top of the tank to make catching the fish easier.

DSCN4341.JPG

Once I had all the fish out of the tank, I decided to save the water in the tank to use as thermal mass heat storage. I moved the blue barrel up against the wall by the door so it would be out of the way, and then used the pond pump to move the water from the tank to the barrel.

DSCN4343.JPG

I figured that since the pump doesn't move the water very fast, I might as well do something while I wait for the tank to get empty. I decided to mix some more potting soil and vermiculite while waiting. Did I mention that it was warm in the greenhouse? 😀

DSCN4344.JPG

The pump finally emptied the tank enough that I could carry it out of the greenhouse with just a little bit of water in it. That gave me back the corner space that I will need for a couple of the big pots.

DSCN4346.JPG

The last thing I did was to move the upper layer of pavers in the corner that the tank had been sitting on. That makes the corner more or less level with the rest of the front where the big pots sit. Having all of the big pots at more or less the same height makes it easier to set up the gravity feed watering system.

DSCN4347.JPG

It's supposed to only get into the mid to upper 30sF for the next several days, so I might not get any more done out there, depending on how much sunshine we get. Even if it's cold outside, if it's sunny, that will warm the greenhouse up enough to be comfortable while working out there.

That's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out, eh!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Love reading about your greenhouse. Bet the fish were happy to be in their pond again.

Winter returns this week here in New England...

Yeah, it got cold here again also...but spring is on the way. 😊

Yes, starting next week, we will have 60's/day all week... :))

I'll bet that's going to be nice! 😊