Pay It Forward Spotlight #2 - @terminallyill - @greetersguild & @breakthecycle

Spotlight(1).png

The Pay If Forward mentality of taking the blessings we have received in life and passing them onto others is one that @terminallyill has been living fully with his efforts launching @greetersguild & @breakthecycle.

To create a groups designed to help welcome newbies to the steemit platform and another to help with addiction is exactly what steemit needed and right in line with the PIF mission.

Steemit Greeters Guild

With a focus on new steemit members @greetersguild seeks out newer members and welcomes them to steemit. They offer an invite to their SGG Discord Room and then try to help them grow. The efforts have expended to include contests and Newbie Spotlight Posts written by SGG members like @tryskele and Curation Spotlights that focus on great posts that deserve some added attention.

This group is growing and always looking for more community oriented members who are willing to help newbies grow. If nothing else follow @greetersguild and watch for their spotlight posts and take a minute to visit those who are featured. Pass out some upvotes and leave a comment so they know you read their work.

Break The Cycle

@breakthecycle is a very personal effort for @terminallyill as it is born from past, and current, life experience. He has become open about his addiction, the real struggle of recovery, and staying on the right path each day. Those who know anyone that struggles with addiction problems can understand how hard these efforts can be and how much harder it can be for someone to admit publicly that they have a problem they face each day.

To be clear someone who is addict doesn't just decide to stop one day and it's over, this is a life long battle for them and the smallest little thing can act as a trigger making them crave the source of their addiction. The battle is real and @terminallyill understands this so he created @breakthecycle.

Take a look at the introduction post for Break The Cycle and you will get a better feel for what they are about. If you are looking for support or are someone who maybe can offer support here is their discord room. The group is small, but know that @terminallyill is there if needed.

@terminallyill

If you are on Discord you will see him posting as LuckyDev and his profile page currently show "Lucky" as his screen name. No matter what name you know him by @terminallyill is someone that you should be following. His Pay It Forward mentality is why he is being featured. His efforts for helping newbies grow on steemit alone deserve a spotlight, but like all of us that try to help others there is more to us.

Just today he showed off some of his writing FROM THE DUST - PROLOGUE showing yet another side of his skill set. What maybe grabbed me by this post even more then the actual content was how he reacted to the ideas of those who read the prologue. Some authors might have taken offense, instead @terminallyill has taken these ideas in stride and has seen them as a way to improve his skills. This says a lot about a person IMO.

@terminallyill doesn't post very often as he is always working on his projects, but when he does you will find passion behind everything he says and does.

Small gift of appreciation

Each person I feature is getting 1 #steembasicincome share as a small token of my appreciation for their efforts.

Steem-Bounty

To help manage my VP so I have more for the Pay It Forward Contest I'm putting a 2 SBD #steem-bounty on this post. It will allow me to give smaller votes while still rewarding you with higher amounts. @steem-bounty program has been great to help with engagement and rewarding people on the curation contest and I have realized that it helps me manage my VP on other posts to allow me to give larger upvotes to the featured bloggers in the curation contest.

Same rules as always, if you are trying to take the bounty by posting a crap comment and self voting I'll flag you.

Hope that you have enjoyed the second edition of the Pay It Forward Spotlight!

Sort:  

This is the new account that will be used to promote all Pay It Forward efforts in the future. Right now it's in power up mode. If you support the Pay It Forward cause please upvote this comment to help us power up the new account.

SBD earned will be stockpiled for the next couple weeks to then lease SP and/or power up.

So great to see this @pifc :)

hello @pifc nice to see you . welcome to steemit . I look forward to seeing your #introduceyourself post

I bet he is deliberately waiting so we don't all feature @pifc on the first week 😋

Just in case anyone is questioning this, yes this account is legit and was created by me.

@thedarkhorse, I am beyond flattered after reading this feature. Thank you my friend, it is truly a great honor to have been selected as the feature for your spotlight post. You did an amazing job, and honestly, nothing I said could have been thrown together better than the presentation that you offered up. I myself as well as @greetersguild and @breakthecycle are incredibly grateful for this opportunity to reach more members of the community and to get some recognition for our endless works within the platform and the world in general.

When I launch @fundthefuture, I hope to get an opportunity to introduce you to it as well, as it will be an incredible humanitarian outlet for everyone involved. None the less, we all owe you an incredible amount of thanks for this article. With that being said, thank you so much, as this has certainly been the peak of my day!

As for the reactions to the comments on my latest post, every moment presented to us, whether we acknowledge it or not, has a learning opportunity involved in some form or fashion. How we perceive it is entirely up to us. Why take offense when there is some truth to the statements? I take the good with the bad, and make myself better in the end. Like I have always said, there is no such thing as bad publicity except your obituary ;)

Thank you for the SBI share as well! You are certainly one of the more accomplished and admirable Steemians on this platform as far as I am concerned, so hopefully I can return the favor to you one day in the future my friend! Thank you once more, this has truly made my day, and likely made a nice chunk of my week! Hats off to you and Pay It Forward for blessing this community one day at a time, day in and day out!

You are most welcome! Can't wait to see what you do with @fundthefuture and will obviously be a supporter of your efforts there too.

Think that you have the right idea here "every moment presented to us, whether we acknowledge it or not, has a learning opportunity involved in some form or fashion. How we perceive it is entirely up to us."

Damn, that is good, @terminallyill - can I use it? Looks like a great quote for one of the A'mara.

Yes @viking-ventures, feel free to use it as you see fit :)

Thank you so much. Please accept an SBI share in appreciation. :-)

You are welcome @viking-ventures. You do not need to pay me off to use it, just give me some shout outs and credit :) Though, I will not refuse a gift if you choose to. As long as I am able to help in the success and growth of another, I am happy and blessed to be able to do so!

'Tis already done. I really needed an excuse to sponsor a share anyway. (Considering that you also receive when you give SBI, it's great to have an excuse!) :-)

Free Resteem For Steem-Bounty Users

  • Your Post Got Upvote
  • Your Post Resteemed To 800+ Followers
    How it Work You can Check Here

Untitled-2.png

Great thing you are doing.

People like you make me believe in a good future for steemit - supporting each other. Many people here are just seeing their ROI and nothing else.

Keep on doing a great job!

Hi @thedarkhorse admire you in all the work you do, I'm really amazed with you. You're one of the most consummate and admirable Steemians on this platform, as far as I'm concerned, so I hope I can return the favor one day

Well done and a nice spotlight to one of steemit newbies who has work hard assisting other minnows .

My work is nothing compared to the amount of work you guys put in, to be honest. I may have laid the ground for some things, but it takes hard working and dedicated people to maintain them and see them succeed. You @wolfhart are a fine example of someone who supports positive growth of the community as well as advancement of your fellow man. Many could learn from you and I honestly hope to see it happen!

That some fine words.
We are a team and my short commings are pick up by you and others.

@thedarkhorse has set 2.000 SBD bounty on this post! logo_for-light-bg_1000.png
What is a bounty exactly?

A bounty is money sent to a post to be distributed to the users commenting on it. It provides a way to reward users directly and works in addition to the steem/sbd they receive from the blockchain. It works independently of SteemPower.

You create a bounty by sending any amount of sbd/steem to @steem-bounty together with a post-url in the memo.

How can I earn a bounty Users are then competing for the bounty by writing their answers to the post in comments that will achieve upvotes from the community and especially the bounty creator. The money of the bounty gets distributed to all top level comments of the post at the same time when the post is paid out (7 Days after it was written). How much everyone gets depends on the votes the comments received. The sender of the bounties votes are weighted higher so that she decideds where 80% of the bounty money goes and all other votes determine the rest.

@steem-bounty does all of this for you automatically. You can use this service to automatically pay out a challenge, ask a hard question or simply to reward the people that interact with you.

Read more about how it works, even in different languages here.

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

  • @terminallyill has earned 0.539 SBD. 0.528 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.011 SBD from the community!
  • @pifc has earned 1.416 SBD. 1.056 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.360 SBD from the community!
  • @elleok has earned 0.003 SBD. 0.000 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.003 SBD from the community!
  • @anderson09 has earned 0.001 SBD. 0.000 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.001 SBD from the community!
  • @fresteem has earned 0.020 SBD. 0.000 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.020 SBD from the community!

Good choice for the second edition @thedarkhorse :) @terminally is a wonderful example of helping others and paying things forward!

Thank you @lynncoyle1! I am shadowed by your example however and hope to see you as a feature!1

awww you're too kind :)

It really makes a happy feeling that this initiative is going beyond even your imagination and well...for a good cause. There is a great feeling of purpose in my steemit life now. A positive feeling all around. Appreciate you and @terminallyil both and may God bless for this en-devour to come out in flying colors.

Thank you my brother @angelro! I appreciate your well wishes and kind words my friend! May you be blessed with much success on here and in life!

Thank you my brother @angelro! I appreciate your well wishes and kind words my friend! May you be blessed with much success on here and in life!

You are welcome always bro. It is nice to hear such kind words..especially in the morning..You know in india it is morning now...

Have a nice day...and stay blessed.

An excellent way to showcase some steemians to go along with the Pay It Forward contest itself.

I can just add that it would be nice a steemit looking a bit more like @terminallyill and less like certain known whales. It's not mainly about being selfless or greedy, it's more about having a vision or not. Thank you @thedarkhorse for this amazing focus on Lucky!

Thank you my brother @f3nix! You are a major part of this vision, as you are well aware of. Not only does the vision need to be in place, but it needs strong willed, supportive and selfless individuals such as you to help see it come into fruition. The platform is truly blessed to have people like you on board and I honestly hope that @thedarkhorse nominates you for one of the editions, along with @wolfhart and several others that I see making this community what it should be on a daily basis!

I just wish that my day had 48 hours! More or less like everyone here I suppose. But then, I'd wish for a day of 96, so better I stay content with the amount and work in terms of quality ;-) There's always strength and passion in your words. Btw, I hope you recovered Lucky..