Running 34 Tasks at once - the Threadripper project begins

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5429.JPG

Finally... My Threadripper CPU has arrived! I built the system yesterday and fought with windows the entire day today. After struggling for over 6 hours and hitting the same blue screen over and over again, I decided to go with Ubuntu for now.

As soon as I fired up Boinc and registered for the first project - I went solo now! - I saw 34 Tasks running at the same time and almost fell off my chair.

IMG_5431.JPG

I have meanwhile changed my cpu project to LHC and added GPUGRID as well.

As I have not found any posts about someone using a threadripper 1950X for Boinc tasks, I plan on making this a series and maybe gathering some data about my magnitude and rac per project as I am now able to work on 8 projects at the same time with 4 tasks each. This allows me to directly compare the earnings of all those projects simultaneously and obtain more reliable information.

IMG_5436.JPG

So leave me a comment in case you are interested in seeing a comparison of the projects. Keep BOINCing!

Sort:  

I just set up a 1950x machine with my 1080 Ti's. Anecdotally, I've found that there's a balancing act to ensure your CPU projects don't starve your GPU projects. Even though lots of projects like to say "0.1 CPU + GPU" or things like that, I've found GPU projects seem to need a lot more CPU than that. For reference, I can run 2 GPU SETI tasks, plus about 20 World Community Grid CPU tasks with none of them stepping on each other's toes. It's a Windows 10 box, and when I monitor CPU usage, it generally hovers around 70%. If I start to push things and add more CPU threads, that's when it starts slowing down other projects. But again, I haven't rigorously measured any of this, so it's possible there are combinations of projects out there that perform better. I'm just too lazy to do the min-maxing. :)

Hi, I had the same issue with Seti before. When I was running any other project, my GPU usage was always at 95-100%, however, as soon as I started using Seti, the usage dropped dramatically and the mag likewise. For me, this was project dependent and as soon as I switched to amicable numbers for example, I went straight up 100% again.

Hi,
Powering Up is not the best option today. Default 50/50 rewards plan is better. for more info you may want to take a look at the following post

https://steemit.com/steem/@bayuya/sbd-vs-steem-how-to-get-more-value

This is not SPAM, This is a good advise.

Thank you for your attention anyway.

How's that spam working for you?

@steemcleaners Spam

Great looking rig @applepiie! :D

Thank you :)

HEY GUYS, I FOUND THE MISSING ASTEROID TASKS!

Seriously though, that is one impressive rig. Keep us posted.

Great machine and it will be interesting to see how your RAC is going to rocket so enjoy the ride. :)
All for science and Gridcoin!

Threadripper is amazing, and nice cooler you have too. What cooler is that?

Is that a 1080 ti beneath your cpu?

Hi, it's the NZXT kraken x52 and a GTX 1080 + 1060. I also really love it right now as I feel like I am able to do whatever I want with the PC without ever getting any stutter :)

It would be very interesting to know. I am going to buy a new computer in the near future, so the information will be useful. I'll wait for the news.