PSA: What to do if your difficulty < 0.05 and/or net weight < 300,000 (i.e. if you’re on a fork) [Windows]

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

So we’ve recently hit the 1144000 block milestone to implement the changes in wallet versions 3.7.0.0 and above. This means anyone who has not updated their wallets to a version that is at least 3.7.0.0 will be left behind on a fork. A fork occurs when your wallet deviates from the mainstream block chain and is detectable by the fact that the difficulty and net weight reported by your wallet will drop very low, maybe roughly 0.05 difficulty and a couple hundred thousand weight, depending on how many other people are with you on that fork. Some people may find their wallets have forked anyway despite being a 3.7.0.0 or later wallet, like mine did.

So this is just a short guide to show you what to do if you find yourself on a fork. The first thing you should do, if you haven’t already, is to update your wallet to the latest version. To update your wallet, download the appropriate installer from the gridcoin website here and run it. Once you’ve updated your wallet, now we can start to resolve the fork. Now unfortunately I’m only experienced with Windows, so I’m afraid this guide isn’t going to help much if you’re on a Mac, Linux or Android device.

What you'll want to do is open the Gricoin Wallet's console and type "getblockhash [a block number]", maybe start with something like "getblockhash 1144700", and see if the block hash matches with this website's block hash. All you have to do is type "1144700" into that website's search bar and it'll bring up that block's hash. If yours doesn't match, keep reducing the number (i.e. try 1144600) until you find a block hash that matches. Then type "reorganize [the block hash that matches]". Then your wallet will start replaying the block chain to try and find the correct series of hashes to re-join the main chain. If you find yourself on another fork after reorganize, then try it again at least a couple of times. If you find you’re still on a fork after multiple reorganize attempts, then you’ll need to download a block chain snapshot.

The latest snapshot can be found here, and it’s pretty big at 1.1GB. So you’ll need to give it a while to download. Once the snapshot has downloaded you’ll want to decompress it, close your wallet and head to %appdata%\GridcoinResearch; you can put that in the directory bar of windows explorer and it should work. Then you’ll want to back up your “walletbackups”, “gridcoinresearch.conf” and “wallet.dat” files by making a copy of them somewhere else. Then delete everything in the “GridcoinResearch” folder except for those three folders/files I just mentioned. Then put the files you extracted from the snapshot into the “GridcoinResearch” folder. These should be the “chainstate”, “database”, “txleveldb” folders and the “blk0001.dat” file.

Once you’ve done all of that, you can re-open your wallet, and hopefully it should back in sync quickly. If you’ve got any questions, feel free to leave them below.

Sort:  

Currently I think Gridcoin Blockchain is splitted into a lot of pieces, I always had an estimated reward period of 1 day, now I have 3 hours! But I am not on a fork, or the gridcoin.network page is also on my fork.
Another problem i, that I've lost/not received 200GRC that I've earned prior to block 1144000. You can see it here https://www.gridcoinstats.eu/cpid/bc5a9ab4e5f6009febd0c8afec1299ed I've got one reward on 2018-01-21 and the next on 2018-01-23 with only 3.5 GRC with a magnitude of 355, that should be around 200GRC and I got that transaction for a short time and then it disappears because of a fork. Was there a problem on version change (I am using 3.7.4.0) Thanks for help!

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:

Why it's almost as if I wrote that reddit thread too, silly bot

I get

{
"RollbackChain" : false
}

when trying to reorganize. What could be the problem?

Ahh, silly me, you have to use the hash and not the block number.

Thank you!
I also have currently the problem of my wallet being on a fork and I will try your suggestions.

Did all my updates the same day I saw them post here on Steem hoping my due diligence would pay off (literally) but I got forked :( noticed that i was receiving 15 separate grc payouts a day instead of my usual 2.

Your getblockhash guide worked perfectly. Thank you much.

I have seemed to get off the fork, but my current GRC total is incorrect in my wallet. It is off by a few coins. Do I need to rebuild the chain again even though my hashes match Gridcoin.network?

Aha! Repairwallet. How simple.

The Gridcoin website doesn't seem to be working for higher block numbers right now.

Gridcoin stats block explorer is working for higher block numbers and shows a warning when it detects itself on a fork. https://www.gridcoinstats.eu/block
I was stuck at an early fork soon after block 1144270. Reorganizing at 1144270 got me a lot closer to the main chain, now synchronized at least as high as today's super block.

Thanks for yur good posts, I followed you! +UP

I got stuck on another fork today,
reorganizing from block 1155125 got me back in sync.
the block hash for 1155125 was 0dd9179372b2ab3cc871af53824f6908b2c0d35b67454a479f454ef36e1081a6