You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OMG... Why Gridcoin might become a Top 10 coin before the end of this year?!

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I don't mean to be Devil's Advocate, but lets be realistic here:

  • Yes, there was a huge influx in market cap of GRC starting from May. This was the case for BTC, and almost every other coin conceivable way down the list. It speaks volumes about the crypto-sphere as a whole much more so than any individual player.

  • Gridcoin is about money. BOINC is about research. Despite that fact that lots of Gridcoin users are long time BOINC veterans, I am willing to wager that a massive portion of new Gridcoin members will be in it for the money. This is what crypto is - a currency. Unfortunate? Yes. But it needs to be a vital consideration in any marketing. Most of humanity is far from altruistic.

  • I don't know what you mean with the 'disadvantages holding away interested people'... If someone actually takes the time to read up on how to get set up, all the information is readily available. Granted, a lot of more in-depth stuff (and even to an extent project selection) is harder to find info on, but 95% of the questions I answer on Reddit or in the IRC help channel have been answered upwards of 5 times in the last week. A quick search does wonders.

I believe in Gridcoin. I believe in its potential. As a biomedical engineer I have high hopes for what it can do for scientific compute. I also agree there is room for improvement (which the dev team has made clear is in the works). Let's be realistic about what we are seeing though...

Sort:  

Good points Dutch, but one thing

Gridcoin is about money. BOINC is about research. Despite that fact that lots of Gridcoin users are long time BOINC veterans, I am willing to wager that a massive portion of new Gridcoin members will be in it for the money. This is what crypto is - a currency. Unfortunate? Yes. But it needs to be a vital consideration in any marketing. Most of humanity is far from altruistic.

I can't agree. Bitcoin is also about money, but yet a maaaasive amount of people are mining this coin. If Gridcoin get the same synergy effect it will be a huge leap for distributed computing as well. They are not separate, they are both equally important in the Gridcoin ecosystem.

I wholeheartedly agree that BTC is about money too, and that the amount of BTC mining happening is insane. What I mean to say is that while the philanthropic research aspect of GRC through BOINC is fantastic, I don't think it will draw anywhere near as many people as the chance to make money would. BOINC already had philanthropic research. GRC adds the potential to profit from it.

Exactly why Gridcoin came to life and I support the coin wholehearted 👏👍

Hey @dutch, thank you very much :)

"It speaks volumes about the crypto-sphere as a whole much more so than any individual player."
I disagree with that point. Data sources like the Google Analytics or these wonderful spikes in Google Trends can be attributed to a high rise in Gridcoin mentions. For example, very lately a very famous russian site (xaker.ru) wrote about Gridcoin.

I agree with your second statement but this is the beauty of Gridcoin: Giving an incentive to do something good and compensating those who are not here for money in the first place. Its in any case a good deal..

"(...) but 95% of the questions I answer on Reddit or in the IRC help channel have been answered upwards of 5 times in the last week. A quick search does wonders."
For me, it was mostly the same experience. However, we still have a lot of people who dont get there. The key is probably to "don't make me think".