You can optimize your MAG even more by selecting best subprojects for your hardware. (solo only)

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

In the search of the most mag/credit-efficient BOINC project for your computer hardware, many people select the projects using for example these nice tables from @nexusprime: https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@nexusprime/tables-of-expected-magnitude-for-common-gpu-models https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@nexusprime/expected-magnitude-for-cpu-projects

You can take this even further, by analysing the differences in granted credit between subprojects.

For my example, I looked at my yoyo@home results for the past couple of days. I copied the CPU Time, claimed credit and granted credit to excel. Then I marked the running subproject and calculated credit per cpu time.

For claimed credit the number was 0.008336 for all tasks. Claimed credit is the amount of credit that your host will try to claim. The granted credit, which is calculated from mean values between other people crunching the project, the credit/sec varied from 0.01 to 0.03.

This is the list of usual average credit/sec based on subprojects for my computer:

  • sr1: 0.01667 credits / second
  • ogr: 0.014 credits / second
  • ecm: 0.028 credits / second
  • evo: 0.017 credits / second

This means that my FX-8350 really excels at ecm the most based on these (poor) statistics. Probably there are also other factors affecting this (other users statistics, number of work units etc.) There are still some subprojects I have not even crunched on, so there may be even better projects still out there.

Analysing your task history can really help you optimize your work. You can find your task history from your project account under "Tasks" or "Results".

Sort:  

Thanks for this @fortex, the benefit is not only for solo crunchers but it applies for pool members as well.

Another example where you can optimize your magnitude is for NFS@home - https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@parejan/generate-extra-rac-output-with-nfs-home

How do I optimize if I'm in the pool?

Yeah I'm wondering this also. I'm not aware of a way to edit project settings in grcpool.

Thanks, I'd already started trying to get my head around optimisation. I've just dropped out of GRC pooling into Solo and need to figure best options, given my very old kit.

Thanks for posting this, @fortex. I've been meaning to try optimizing my projects based on my hardware and this post should help spur me to getting that done sooner rather than later.

Great stuff!

The differences in credit/second changing based on sub project definitely caused issues with the tables I made. Some of the hosts where super optimized and scored 40-50% higher than the next person. I knew that PrimeGrid was because of PPS-sieve. This explains what was going on with the Yoyo@home data.

I'm also working on a script to make downloading this sort of data from the project websites easier. I'm still trying to get it working with Einstein and Yoyo. Hopefully I can get it working for all projects by tomorrow.