You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Just Wanna BOINC! -- Part 3: Alternative Single Board Computers

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Only negative thing i have about it, is that the build quality can be a little dodgy. I've been through a lot of them at work, mostly for drone beta/prototype applications, and some of the boards were pretty badly made (bad soldering loose connections on the I/O stuff like that). Most are just fine though.

Sort:  

I have found that the XU4 throttles down to 1.9ghz (of a max of 2.0ghz) almost all the time. Even with the cooler on the board, plus another fan, plus 22C ambient room temperatures.

Did some research on the throttling down to 1.9GHz, and it seems the stock cooler simply isn't good enough to handle all cores on full load. I'm experimenting with some water-cooling at the moment, I'll post my results when I'm done testing. Might even try to OC the bastards if temps look good :P

Cool, I look forward to seeing what you discover!

I haven't noticed that, but we also don't monitor the clock speed that closely so I could easily have overlooked it. It's not too bad, but a little annoying if it's consistent though.