You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An (unconventional?) way to support gridcoin

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

That is an awesome way to fuck yourself for TOS violations not only is that unethical but those machines are not yours , you do not own them nor do you pay the power costs. Both violations of BOINC TOS and the fact pointing out that you are stealing Gridcoin from the rest of us whom spend $100+USD a month and BOINC for science paying to power our OWN machines. I hope you get busted and lose your job... Great solution then huh there buddy? Someone just got busted for doing that , was a top whale with his mag in the 8000's and I hope you are next.

Sort:  

Someone just got busted for doing that , was a top whale with his mag in the 8000's and I hope you are next.

Someone also accused that other someone of far worse things in the same mail. It wasn't true of course, but the damage was still done.

Not paying for hardware or electricity does not automatically make you a mag thief.

I'll add that it's fine to have a discussion about ethics as far as using hardware or electricity that you technically didn't pay for. I want people to know that the Gridcoin community cares about being honest. But yeah, there's a difference between making use of idle time on a couple computers in your office, and subversively running a large scale mining operation w/o permission or consent.

Chill, it's only two computers. My supervisor knows and she's totally cool with it qualifying as "personal use". Nothing unethical there. Running BOINC on a supercomputing cluster of 10000 cores without permission...well...that's pretty far into the unethical regime, and no way I would do that. (Although, if someone is going to be unethical to that extreme ... at least it's in a "robinhood-esque" way, rather than flat-out stealing cash and spending it on coke and hookers, haha.)

Added note: I apologize if I was too cavalier. I care a lot about ethical practices within the crypto mining space and especially Gridcoin (I want Gridcoin to have a good public image). I encourage other miners to take ethics seriously as well, without necessarily taking a black-and-white "puritan" point of view.