First post, first Gridcoin.

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

Hello.

Well, this is my first post ever on Steemit.

I guess, for the beginning I talk about myself. Who am I?

My real name is Chris;
I live in Germany;
I listen to Metal (Mostly Death Metal);
I like pets and gaming;
and most important: my internet username is Jexkin.
Even if I hardly doubt it, you might know me from games or Steemit comments.

So, why am I posting it with the tag in Gridcoin?

Well, I got into cryptocurrency almost 2 years ago and mined altcoins, without real profit because I hadn't the best hardware.
Later on, I stopped mining for a few months and discovered Boinc and Gridcoin. I was fascinated what Boinc has to offer and what you can do with it. I began to run Boinc and learned about Gridcoin shortly after that.
I set up everything and got my first Gridcoin payout from GRCPool, 14 Gridcoin in about 15 days. Soon after I got the payout, I changed to solo-"mining" and got 1 GRC 3 days after that. "Sadly" the new update came and I kinda was forced to pool-"mine" again.
I "mined" until I got a balance of 45 Gridcoin, after that I lost interest. One point was, that I hadn't had great hardware (HD7970). You might say, it's a good card, but I think it's still not good enough. Another point was, that I still use my computer to play games.
As soon I move into my own apartment, I will try to get some more hardware and run Boinc again.

Well, I think that's it for now.
If you have any questions, feel free to ask me (almost) anything! :)

(I'm sorry for any typos, as I'm not a native speaker and still learn Englisch)

Sort:  

Thank you for the introduction @jexkin and welcome. As it is winter in Germany, you could maybe turn-on your system for the coming months to heat up your room. :)

Thanks.
Yes, I could. But "unfortunately" I like to play games with my computer and therefore I can't really crunch that much/no more anymore. But I already planned to get a proper setup or solution for that :)

You can set your games as 'exclusive applications' in the advanced BOINC manager, go to the Options > Exclusive Applicaitons menu, so when you start them the GPU mining turns off. Also if you pick a good project CPU mining (on a non-GPU project) is also worthwhile.

Welcome to steemit!

7970 - the undisputed ruler of Milkyway@home. Those cards practically mapped the Galaxy :)

Welcome to Steemit!

And there is 1 7970 more I could add - sadly it is watercooled. Can't connect it to my system, couldn't install any other GPU's then :/

Thanks :)

Watercooled 7970. The speed. The magnitude. The beauty.

4x7970.jpg

I could, actually, get my current 7970 a waterblock too, because I bought a 7970 and a 280x with waterblock and a terminal. But I need to sell both (with waterblocks). Might get some watercooled 7970 with the profit (about 70-80€).
Also for my 480 radiator it shouldn't be a problem to handle them. Hehe.

Hi Jexkin

Not having the best hardware but still boincing is exactly the point in boinc in my opinion. Every university has some servers that crunch numbers so much faster than any one of us could, but all of us together can keep up with them!

Concerning your card: If you feel like it, try to crunch for milkyway@home with your 7970. Those cards are really strong at FP64 computations, even stronger than a 1080 Ti I think. Milkyway@home uses exactly those double precision calculations because the "normal" FP32 calculations are simply not precise enough for the calculations they do.

I was looking for quiet some time for one of those cards and could not fine one unfortunately... They really rock at this project and have kind of a niche there :)

Hey applepiie,

I know that old hardware can be a good hardware. As the HD7970 shows literally that.
I crunched Milkyway@home for that amount of time but it got too hot in my room and too loud because of that "stupid" fan. As I still live with my parents, I can't really have a hot and loud room all the time.
As I wrote, I want to crunch again, when I'm living in my own apartment and can (almost) be as loud as I want to.

Where do you live, if you don't mind that I ask that question?

I'm from Switzerland, German speaking part :) I live in a shared flat with my girlfriend in one room. She has to suffer badly because of my crunching. My rig is humming in the background all day long and the window is always slightly open to keep the temperatures perfect (except in summer, then its way too hot in here...).

You have to think about your hot room in a positive manner. Firstly, you don't have to heat your room anymore and secondly every time you sweat a drop and suffer in your bed at night because it is so hot, you know you do it for science and that is pretty cool 😏

boinc

#ISweatForScience!



That should probably be on a shirt...

Well, there are of course some "disadvantages" :D

Have a look at ebay-kleinanzeigen.de there are some HD7970. It's a German site, some people might send the package (if you pay for shipping) to switzerland :)
Otherwise, eBay.de is a place too.

I might look into Germany... was looking in Switzerland only and our used PC-Parts market is rather small

Moin Chris!

I recently moved from Australia to Germany (the Hochdeutsch part), taking advantage of the cold winters instead of the hot summers to crunch. I have a couple of 7970s back home that I will be setting up when I visit in march to crunch Milkyway.

Check out T Throttle, you can set it so that your graphics card throttles when it hits a certain temp, of course this slows compute times but atleast keeps fan noise and heat levels reasonable (I am using it on the 1070 in my laptop and it is working well)

Congratulations @jexkin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit & Great to see you're involved in the Gridcoin community, stick around! :)

Congratulations @jexkin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jexkin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!