Why i'm crunching?

in #gridcoin7 years ago

boinc-transparent.png

Greetings all!

I'm always trying to spread the word about BOINC and Gridcoin and shortly after this i'm often get the same questions:

  • Why do you crunch so many different projects?
  • Why do you crunch SETI?
  • Why do you let your old phones crunch?
  • Why do you crunch on your home PC?
  • Why don't you crunch 24/7?
  • Why do you pay so much for electric power and for a GRC Full Node?
  • Why you don't trade with Gridcoins?

...that's all so unprofitable, you'll never make a fortune with Gridcoin this way!

Well... i've started with SETI back in the last century when it was only a little screensaver and when ever i had a computer which was able to handle the load - and as long as the machine was able to handle it. SETI was my little "Nerdgasm". ;)
Later the Berkley University came up with BOINC and time after time new projects got added, some which got added by me because they sound interesting for this age old Nerd here.

So the short answer to all the questions above is simple - because i wan't and i don't care that i'll never make a fortune.

In March this year i stumbled over Gridcoin and i was fascinated - a Cryptocurrency which is rewarding me for something i'm already doing and always will do? Great!
That's why i don't care that i will never ever earn enough GRC to break even, let alone making a profit. I see Gridcoin as something that i will hand down (bequeath) to my son.

I'm curious. Are you - dear reader - already crunching with BOINC and earning Gridcoin? And if yes - what's your intention doing so and when did you start?

Regards

Roberto Gaudio
(Nuad01)

Sort:  

I crunch because it's a great way to support science. I'm really into astronomy and cosmology, and there are quite a few BOINC projects working in that region of the sciences.

I came in for the money as a trader from poloniex but got really interested after reading, researching and joining the lovely and ever friendly communities most especially the IRC channel.
Doing something or anything good for humanity is just great. Call me a fan boy...

I started BOINCing in the early 2000s, I dont know when excactly I lost my original account & CPID, its well over 10 years ago though. Id just run my PC while I was at home on weekends, it didnt matter that I was only doing a little bit, it all counts.

I saw Bitcoin early and was intrested, but it was hard to understand and I didnt want to divert my crunching for some weird currency thingy.

Around mid 2014 I tried to setup Gridcoin Classic, but it was complicated and I could not get it to sync with the network. About six months later I had forgotten my original problems and was one of the early people to join Gridcoin Research, I had to buy Gridcoin Classic coins, and go through the coin burning process to get the new GRC.

A short while before that I had solar panels fitted on my house and so I started crunching BOINC in the daytime, but it was Gridcoin that really made me dedicate to crunching diligently and as much as possible. Even so, I have never had massive output on Gridcoin because Im only a part time BOINCer.

I love the science, and am dedicated to BOINCing forever, but Gridcoin gave me that extra little incentive to push a bit harder.

Why am I crunching gridcoin? Well I help mankind and make a good profit too!! What's more to ask? I started some more than ago, march I think. I had boinced many years ago though with that screensaver thingie..

i hope delords read this too.
nuad : "auf den punkt getroffen"

I have read it and commented on the article.
Many thanks.

I crunch, therefore I am.

The bull is also here, thank you for the tips.

Congratulations @nuad01! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!