You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Progress On BOINC Parallel Implementation of my Lab's Brain Model

in #gridcoin7 years ago

For those that don't know me yet, my PhD is focussed on modelling the cells in the brain to such a level of detail that we can simulate brain function digitally. In my specific case, this allows me to observe the effects of neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's Disease to enable and advance drug development. The primary problem I encounter here is insufficient access to compute power to simulate my models to a satisfactory level of detail.

Wow, what? That's incredible. Allthough I don't believe in the 'Big Pharma single molecule patent approach' this is really awesome I think. Being impressed by all the machine- and deep learning technologies I applaud that. Modelling a whole brain like that I never heard of before and I guess is really interesting. Would love to see that in action.

I've read an article about autism and how it affects or rather the lack of pruning of the neural network. So if you think about Rain man the classic movie, if I can take him as an example of a type of autistic case, this lack of pruning means they record everything and all the paths stay there. There's actually no highway, if you will being made, sort-of "this is the way to think or solve this problem", which I think work in real life.

Well I hope I'm not creating waves with these kind of viewpoints.