You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An (unconventional?) way to support gridcoin

in #gridcoin6 years ago

I don't really use my computer that much. Maybe a couple of hours per day to check emails, so it is safe to assume that most of my consumption comes from running BOINC 24h/7.

You do make a valid point though and the numbers I mentioned should only be used as a ballpark to give you an idea. Everyone has a different system and the electricity costs also vary a lot from country to country. This is one of the reasons I have given links to the websites I used above, so that each user can do this calculation for themselves and decide how much GRC they should be buying every month instead of crunching.

Sort:  

In that case the power consumption calculator should give you a good estimate.
Even with other usage It is a quick way to find the maximum monthly cost of running BOINC on your hardware.