You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An (unconventional?) way to support gridcoin

in #gridcoin6 years ago

I think it's great that you have increased your contributions to GRC this way, but based on the arguments above, doesn't it still make sense to turn your rig off and buy GRC manually until the prive is 4-5 times higher? (I am just playing devil's advocate here, I would probably keep mining myself if I had a reasonably strong system! It is this feeling of "contributing directly" that I find very interesting and would like to understand better.)

Sort:  

It's true; right now I earn about 15 USD per month in GRC (excluding PoS interest) but spend about 50 in electricity costs. However, I do genuinely believe that the price of GRC will increase over time, so I haven't sold any of what I've gained from mining.

Also, something just doesn't feel right to me about turning off my rigs. Gridcoin is about more than money to me. My computations actually have some tangible meaning. That's what brought me to Gridcoin in the first place, the fact that I'm not just mindlessly grinding through SHA-256/etc all day until I find some arbitrary magic number.