Why I am buying 20,000 Gridcoin

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi all,

most of you will know that I am a fervent Gridcoin (GRC) supporter. With cryptocurrency prices dipping over the last week or so, this is a golden opportunity to support one of the few cryptocurrencies that use computing power to do real-life research.

I am already heavily invested in Gridcoin, but for me, getting my balance up to 20,000 GRC is a solid idea for the following reasons:

  1. I like supporting scientific research. Buying/investing in cryptocurrencies is inherently risky, but even if my whole balance disappeared one day (highly unlikely), I would still be ok knowing that I have contributed to advancing knowledge a little bit.

  2. Constant Block Reward (CBR) will be implemented soon. That almost certainly means that all whales (and other users) will at that point leave their wallets permanently online to reap their rewards. With a balance of 20,000 GRC, I will still be able to stake every few days and get my fair share of the pie. I am confident that will be the case, because I am happy with the staking frequency of my current 10,000 GRC balance even when whales are online. My estimate after CBR is implemented is that I will need double as much to stake with the same frequency.

  3. At the current prices and given the recent history, I feel confident that GRC can easily justify returning to at least 0.06$ per GRC. That means I can expect my investment to triple in value in the short/medium term. This is comforting, even though I do not plan to sell at all. I am in it for the science.

Any thoughts and comments on the above?

Sort:  

Good reasoning.
Also, if your electricity prices are high, buying GRC may help to optimize compute power and costs.

Now we wait for GRC to build its rocket ship and fly us to the moon!

@p-a you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @p-a! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!