You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Team Gridcoin set to surpass SETI.USA for 3rd place RAC on BOINC

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for your first article @grwd and welcome to the Gridcoin community on Steemit!

Just a comment, I think the overall RAC for Bitcoin Utopia is incorrect. For a project without any output it is strange to have a RAC score of 3,329,259,851.

I would only look at this chart to compare the teams based on RAC scores: http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?page=boincteamsb

Sort:  

Thanks @parejan for the feedback. I've been following Gridcoin on Steemit for a few months now and am glad to join the conversation.

I agree that the sky high RAC for Bitcoin Utopia is a little odd, but I'm willing to give it the benefit of the doubt given what (little) I understand about the efficiency of ASICs.

And I might start tracking that second chart, thanks. Gridcoin is already dominating it significantly, with an RAC equal to the total of all the other teams in 2nd place through 24th place. I'd be curious to see and communicate what such a "Gridcoin versus Everyone" chart looks like.

Bitcoin Utopia mines Bitcoin.
At first Bitcoin Utopia donated the results to BOINC project.
Later there were troubles with that (I don't know the details) and also people did not like that basically help Bitcoin wasting energy when the thing Gridcoin wants to do is end that. So Utopia got de-whitelisted.

If you check BOINCStats you will noticed that Bitcoin Utopia doesn't have RAC output anymore. Besides their official webiste (http://www.bitcoinutopia.net/bitcoinutopia/) has expired as well.

Interesting subject Gridcoin vs everyone, looking forward to see your article on this :)