You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Investigating the Pomegranate Network Mining Gridcoin

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

I don't know, if the software is bundled with other software unless you untick a checkbox I don't know how valid the consent argument is. I mean, it's not like people used to run 600 IE toolbars because they liked them and gave explicit consent. They ran them because they came bundled with something they actually consented to.

Edit: All installations supposedly require explicit consent (as in check a box to install, not uncheck a box to avoid installation), so it might be moot.

Sort:  

I don't know, if the software is bundled with other software unless you untick a checkbox I don't know how valid the consent argument is.

Installing CCleaner today, Avast Antivirus attempted to do exactly this. It's standard practice within the freeware/shareware scene.

Did it install CE or something else?