You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rocksmith: The Best Way to Learn Guitar?

in #guitar8 years ago (edited)

resteemed!
Cool article.
I am a guitarist too, I learnt by myself 20 years ago listening to Smell Like Teen Spirit.
I play in open tuning, the lazy man's tuning :-)

It looks like a cool piece of software.

I still believe that to learn guitar you need 3 things:

  • 1- to find a song you like, and to practice it until it SOUNDS like it
    Try simple stuff like "holidays" from green day to start. It's easy and very rewarding. You just get the tabs online and play with the sound in the background.
  • 2- find a band. Rythm and discipline are key to get the groove. You can be an average player, not technical, but if you play in rythm, and just, it will sound great.
  • 3- ultimately, find a teacher to really progress. (I never did)

Cheers !

Sort:  

Thanks!

I second your #1 advice. Rocksmith helps, but it's so much fun you can forget to practice until it sounds like it.

I still need to do #2. I played with other people ocasionally but have the schedule to find a band when you are not a teenager anymore is tough :)