A Useful Scale/Pattern on Electric Guitar

in #guitar7 years ago (edited)

guitar.jpg

The scale below may not look like much, but it is one that I use constantly in my solos. Initially what I liked about this scale is that when it is played in the upper register of the neck, the first three fingers: index, middle, and ring, can be used for every single note (you don't have to use your pinky). But there is another reason this scale is useful, which I'll explain below.

3 fing pattern.jpg

Notice it's just the A natural minor scale (Aeolian mode) laid out in a three-finger friendly position on the neck.

This scale comes in handy when soloing for another reason as well. It can be used to generate other flavors during a solo in the following way: say that the key of a tune you're playing in is C Dorian, you can still go up to the 15th fret of the A string and execute the exact scale seen above, and although one of the notes will technically be “off” from the Dorian mode, that “wrong” note will only serve to add vibrant color and a new flavor to your solo, yet without being exceedingly out of key. This can be an astoundingly fruitful concept once you explore it.

I use the scalar pattern above all the time (actually I overuse it).

I love how easily it falls under my fingers.

And it can be played extremely fast when used in the higher positions of the neck because (to reiterate) just your first three fingers are all that's necessary.

Try this scale on for size and see if you also find it to be extremely useful.