Mosin Nagant Rifle Bolt disassembly and assembly NO TOOLS REQUIRED

in #gun7 years ago

Here's a video I made showing how to take apart the Mosin Nagant model 91/30, m44, m38 etc. The cool thing about this bolt assembly is that you need no tools, this is a common design trait for old military rifles. If you plan on taking apart one of these remember to measure firing pin protrusion before disassembling and measure after you get it back together, if the firing pin protrudes too much it will rupture the primer of the cartridge (this can be very dangerous, resulting in hot pressurized gasses escaping the receiver).

Thanks for watching,

Here's a link to my previous article showing how to make the parts washer featured in this video: https://steemit.com/diy/@gunsmithing/easy-diy-project-small-parts-washer-quickest-way-to-clean-small-gun-parts

Sort:  

Nice video handy knowledge to have a round .

This bolt... easy to take down in pieces, a headache to reassemble.

That was pretty neat! I've had the head off the bolt of a mosin-nagant, but I didn't know that the firing pin unscrewed from the cocking piece like that.

Yeah it's crazy simple, that's why I like old military rifles.

I have a couple of older military rifles, an 1891 Argentine Mauser, and an original 1893 Spanish Mauser that was made in 1897. I also have a Mosin-Nagant with the hex reciever, I think it's a 1930. I've had a couple of British SMLEs, they're interesting. I'd like to find a WW1 vintage No1 with the magazine cutoff and the volley sights, but I probably couldn't afford a decent one.

The old Mauser's are awesome almost all modern bolt actions use Mauser's design. I personally prefer SMLE's to mausers just because they are tough as hell (although heavier than they should be). My personal favorite is the 1903 springfield MK I, I was lucky enough to find one several years ago at a pawn shop that was made in 1919 and it's still a tack driver!

My only problem with the 1903 Springfield is that they're so darned expensive.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gunsmithing from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.