As a teen, I was afraid of guns, too.

in #guncontrol6 years ago

I grew up in a family chocked full of "outdoors-men". They hunted and fished, and I liked reading and music. I was the oddball, the black sheep. I was intimidated by the sheer presence of guns. I never went on the many hunting trips my father, uncles, and brothers asked me on. I wasn't even a fan of gunfight movies or western novels. You could say that I was very anti-gun.
I am forty now, and still have only owned one gun. I still have only shot guns(target shooting) maybe 4 times, and three of those times were 20+ years ago. They still make me uneasy. And I still don't identify with the Hunting or Sport-shooting crowds much. I'm still very much NOT a gun enthusiast.
But something's changed over the years. I've grown more defensive of my rights. I've grown to understand and enjoy liberty through self-ownership. Experience has taught me some lessons that help me get over the uneasiness I get around guns. I've met elderly Polish and German refugees of World War II and have a friend who escaped Cuba during the "great exodus" of the 1990's. I've seen people get victimized and bullied violently. I've been bullied and victimized.
And, like I mentioned earlier, I like to read. The more I've read about history, the more it shows you that the right to defend yourself is a natural right every person has. I've grown to understand the NEED for self-defense.
Gun Control with Gru.jpg

Sort:  

Absolutely, your liberty to self defense is an important one, and one that I fully support! Glad to have found you here on Steemit, this is Crystal btw.

Congratulations @indomitable! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!