Steemit Community Hates Guns?

in #guns6 years ago

It would appear by loudness of the silence, vastness of the empty firearms related landscape and the shear lack of traffic, communication or content or support of firearms content that perhaps Steemit is not ready for the firearms community to move over here from Youtube and elsewhere.

Is there indeed a disinterest here? Is the Steemit community really only about blogging and chatting about bitcoin, bitcoin, bitcoin, bitcoin, ETH, Ethereum, IOTA, Steem, Steem, Steem, article after article, story, and screen shot.......crypto this and crypto that?

Where are the real stories and hobbies? Where are the photos? Where is the imagery, the music and writings of interest?

I have spent considerable time on here perusing and searching and trying to locate other firearms enthusiasts and so far have found very few. If you see some - let me know as I would be MORE than happy to follow and hear what you have to say and get the Steemit firearms community up to speed!Screen Shot 2017-12-09 at 4.25.15 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-12-09 at 5.48.42 PM.png

Sort:  

I agree! I am tired of scrolling through and seeing all things crypto. I’m pretty sure that wasn’t steemit’s mission. I have to go into posts with the tags that I want to search because the ones I’m interested in are not listed in the list to choose from. I enjoy some gun posts myself. My husband is slowly getting me interested.

Thank you for the comment and superb post. I appreciate that.

I think Steemit is just so new that it's been largely undiscovered so far. It seems natural that it would be overwhelmed by Bitcoin fanatics because such people would be early adopters of a blockchain-based social network. I think the reason Steemit hasn't been discovered yet by other content creators is that its fundamental concept is a little odd to grasp at first. Most average Joe's who aren't tech savvy don't get what makes it unique - but the blockchain enthusiasts do.

Gun people will get here in due time. We need early adopters like you!!!

I think this is correct. As a blockchain enthusiast and software engineer, it's certainly difficult for me to communicate to friends and family why they should be excited about this.

Thank you! I am here!

It would seem to me that the topic of firearms go hand in hand with liberty which was, as far as I could tell, the main reason for something like steemit. Maybe you're just among the very first few group of gun lovers on here, in which case that would be a good thing. Please continue posting!

I will. Thank you for the support. It seems like much of this community is more interested in talking about technology and crypto than tangible adventures and life outside the screen.

Yeah that's disappointing in a way. I am certainly interested in crypto's but I don't know enough about it to write anything of value about it. The things that I am interested in don't seem to be super popular either. Gotta start somewhere though or we'll only ever read about crypto's here!

I enjoy firearms, not just for fun, but to keep myaelf accurate. For my family, for my neighbor, for your neighbor and for you. I am ALWAYS carrying my firearm because i passed my concealed carry permit and shits crazy yo. If i am in a place where i have to draw, i will, but when not at the range or at home, its holstered image

I enjoy the Px4. In my experience it's a solid, reliable, and accurate pistol.

Agreed. The last one that i had wad a base sm.40 couldnt hit a watermelon at 5 yards. Been shooting for 20 years. It was cheap. Traded and can now hit a dime at 15y

Following you now - thanks!

Awesome! Great comment!

As for me, I don't see it as disinterest.

I think many steemit.com users are gun owners, but guns aren't a priority topic for them to post about.

By all means, present posts about firearms!

Also following you now - thanks!

I appreciate the support from everyone. I had no idea that there was this type of community on here.

Welcome! I for one would appreciate more gun related content.

I will continue it here I promise. Check out the latest in the blog. Thank you.

Please keep posting your firearms posts. That is the only way we build that community.

Unfortunately most of the time on steemit it seems to be about who you know, not what you know.

AGREED!

I've done the same thing. I've searched "hunting", "trapping", "guns", "shooting", "firearms", "reloading",and so-on. I've found few on here who are posting these types of things.

Go read my blog. Loads of posts on guns, reloading my own ammo etc :)

I shoot rifles and pistols...a lot! I shoot every weekend and generally through the week also. Good to see someone else on here also enjoys it!

Some of my pew pew’s below.




Hey mate, yeah I follow the 6.5 guys already. A mate of mine met them at Shot Show (Las Vegas) this year. Apparently they are great dudes.

I'm happy with my RPR. Shoots like a laser (I've had it to 1551m) and for the money I couldn't see a better choice. The TacA1 was not released when I got the RPR but I have shot it many times and am equally happy with that rifle. I just built a 6mm based on a Tikka CTR which I use for culling on a property and will also use in PRS. It sits in a carbon fiber stock and whilst the image below shows a Delta Optics 4.5-30x56 on it I now have my Kahles 624i resting on top. Culling tomorrow night actually. :)

Thanks for your comments.

Kahles..on my wish list. They are the best out there at the moment. Safe and pleasurable shooting too ya'.

Yes, I totally agree. There seems to be a dirth of content of any real interest on Steemit. After perusing for a week now I feel as if I am wandering through a cyber wasteland. Booorrrrring as hell. Not easy to connect to others or find interesting content. There is more to life than CRYPTO.

Not to worry, I say. There are plenty of us out here who love guns, hunting, the 2nd amendment, and all things outdoors. Eventually, steemians will stand up and be counted. At least, I hope so...