The First Jerry Banfield Show - A Gym Membership Starts It All!


Would you like to read how a gym membership helped me start my new career in motivational speaking because this is how the Jerry Banfield Show started?

The First Jerry Banfield Show - A Gym Membership Starts It All!

I come into this gym one day, just getting a gym membership, not thinking anything at all like I'm just here for gym membership, and John Hunter's here. He's the general manager of the gym, so he takes me back into his office to talk about a gym membership.

The First Jerry Banfield Show - Gym Membership

If you would like to read the previous blog post, click here.

I definitely want one. This is a clear-cut case. If I need a gym membership, you've got it. He doesn't even need to sell me anything.

The Jerry Banfield Show!

I start getting curious and my mind says, "Why don't you try to sell him on some of your digital marketing services because clearly you need some money?

And thankfully something, a little magical thing happened in my mind that day.

I was literally halfway through a sentence where I was about to start, you know, kind of a sales pro, like let's see if I can get in here somehow.

In mid-sentence the thought came, "Why don't you get curious and ask about what he's doing instead of talking about yourself?"

So, instead of trying to sell him, I said, "Well, tell me what you do. What do you do with your marketing here? I do a lot of marketing and I get curious, like what do other people do with their marketing?"

He started talking to me about that and we talked, and it turns out he's building a career as a motivational speaker. I'm like, "Really? That's what I want to do too."

The First Jerry Banfield Show - Gym Membership

He's like, "Have you been to ToastMasters before?"

I said, "Yeah, my friend's wife said that was really good, but you know, naturally I ignored it and didn't take any action on it."

He then said, "We have a great ToastMaster's meeting on Tuesday night. Why don't you come to it?"

I said, "Alright, I'll do that. I'll be there."

I went to ToastMasters and "Oh my God, the things that have unfolded getting to know John Hunter."

John has coached me through the process of not feeling confident. Some of you wanted to talk about how do you build your confidence?

You have somebody help you build your confidence.

When I first started this show a month ago and I took action, I sold the studio that I bought for $50,000, I sold it for about $5,000.

That was the first clear action I could see I needed to take.

I met John and I've been going to ToastMasters, and I'd been planning to start the show here. But then, when everybody started staying at home and nobody wanted to hang out anymore, I thought, "You know what? This is not the time to start an in-person show. I need to really hit my business online hard, and then I'll be able to start a show later."

The First Jerry Banfield Show -Gym Membership

Again, I was putting off my dreams, putting off what I really wanted to do, because it seemed, "Well, you know, it might be a little difficult. It might not work out, so I'll just stay at home and film three hours of videos a day and I'll hit it really hard. I'll grind harder than I've ever grinded. I'll focus harder than I've ever focused."

Then, I had a kind of a breakdown one day, my wife asked, "What's wrong?"

I said, "I hate this. I hate going into that office."

The Jerry Banfield Show!

I love you.

You’re awesome.

I appreciate the chance to serve you today and I will see you again soon.

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Edits from video transcript by Michel Gerard.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jerrybanfield.com/gym-membership/