Is there Even A Point to Doing Something if You're Ding it Just For Habit?

in #habit4 years ago

Tonight, I write for a commitment that I made to myself. It's not necessarily because I have a great idea or because I want to. It's not because I need to, but because I want to follow through on a simple commitment that I made to myself and I've told others that I want to do it. This short little entry is my accountability to myself. The fact that I'm sharing it makes me uncomfortable, and so I push myself to publish it anyway.

There's nothing stopping me from going back on my challenge to write daily, except for the desire to be on the other side of it.I want to be done with it. I want to have achieved it. If I want to have achieved it, then I have to be willing to do it. Yes. Easy, simple logic. No question about that.

So here I am, writing words of questionable substance; at least the words are of questionable substance and value to me. That may just be my self doubt or something similar, or it could be my laziness trying to tell me to just shut the damn computer and spend time with the house guest who drove three days to spend time with us. Everything in the world is like gravity that is pulling us away from things or towards them.

In my experience, I am either moving in the direction I want to go or away from it. There, of course, is a middle ground, but it quickly disappears whether it's because I'm moving toward where I want to go or away from it.

Today I took a step forward. I celebrate one small victory and share it with you. Thanks for sharing in that victory. I hope there's some value in my words. If not, I'll own that and be grateful for the value that just writing them has had for me.

Much love and hope you're keeping well.openexcavation.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts....if we plan to succeed,we need to make a step closer to our goals everyday because failure to do so means we are automatically taking 2 steps back.

And I really admired the way you still wrote even tho nobody would have scold you when you don't... I think we all need to have principles as strong as yours. That will push us to a greater height.

Love this post ♥️. Thank you for sharing

Thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts and share your insights. I'm grateful to have you share your perspective and to know that, even small steps can carry weight.

Some days doing just one thing is enough.

I agree. Some days sleep or fun comes second. That's sometimes due to mismanaged time, as far as I can tell.