You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The humanity of Habitat for Humanity

I think this HFH is great. I am a carpenter of almost 30 years. The reason why I don't give my services to these HFH is because those who stand around get paid, and me with 30 years experience doesn't get paid. Its not the point of getting paid because I have given my service to many for free, and refused money when they tried to offer it to me when project was completed. I don't mind working for free for a good cause. But the way I see it is everyone should be doing it for free. Even the person who called me to see if I would volunteer was getting paid, lol. I don't do charity work like that. If my time is for free so should be everyone else involved in project. Tis is a great opportunity to help the homeless and poor, but you got greedy ppl working inside that do nothing but whip ppl to get that house done. That doesn't work for me. I do my own charity work, I get no credit for doing it, I don't want the credit because it was all volunteer. And all the money I give to the homeless goes 100% to that homeless person not 10 cents of every $1 like most charities do. It doesn't matter if I give $1 or $100 it all goes to them, none for me for doing a service of giving charity to the poor. And that is why I also do not support any kind of charity. To many greedy ppl hiding in there. I personally think if a charity makes a million dollars that whole million dollars should go to those who need it, not the 90% to the charity and 10% to those who need it. Sorry if this offends anyone. But all charities offend me by robbing those who give to charities, and robbing those who need the help most. To me that ios more offensive than those who refuse to give to any charity.