You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Switching System 7 (SS7) Security flaws

in #hacking7 years ago

We can sure that governments will want to maintain some sort of access to the networks to that they can monitor anyone with a phone. I'd hope that at least the telcos can lock down their networks to reduce the chance of rogue elements getting access. No complex system can be completely secure.

Sort:  

You should ALWAYS assume they are listening to you. But your conversation and contacts can stay out of their reach when you use Encrypted apps like signal - By the way, Signal is a real huge "data hog", so if you use it with Cellular data, it can eat up 1.6 gb/hour. My MONTHLY plan is only 2 gb a month. So I use the voice part only when on a WIFI. The Text portion leaves a much smaller Data footprint of course, and unlike the voice part, it is not blocked from China. But I heard Signal has an upgrade (only for Android) that the great firewall of China cannot block. Wickr works from China. At least in the parts where my friend visited.

The bandwidth will be an issue for many. I've not had a great need for encrypted communications, but I still find it fascinating

The bandwidth has little effect on the encryption, this is a matter of CPU speed. There might be a slight difference, but as streams are deciphered, CPU is a factor, but once decrypted, the amount of data would almost be the same.

everybody needs encrypted communication. Especially now that Trump is our leader.

He's not our leader in the UK, but I expect we will feel the effects. Of course a lot of our communications goes via the US. I've played with GPG for years, but can't get people to use it. I realise it is complex. We need simple to use solutions