You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Haiku Contest #3: Out The Window

in #haiku6 years ago

20120701 Cattle Crescendo and Baby Doves 008.jpg

Glancing out French doors
four cattle grazing our lawn . . .
we have no cattle


True incident, this. I was on the phone with my husband, Marek, and when I walked from our bedroom into the living room, sure enough, four black Angus cattle were grazing between the back of our house and the woods.

Not surprisingly, one of our neighbors was close behind, asking if I had seen them. When I answered in the affirmative, and told him where they were, he chased them down to the river and back to his place, three or four properties to our south.

The photo above isn't actually of his cattle, but of part of the herd belonging to another neighbor on the same side of our street, roughly the same distance to our north.