My Halloween Decorations

in #halloween7 years ago

I love me some Halloween! And I love decorating my humble little house with sweet (and sometimes spooky) knick-knacks and what-have-yous that I find throughout the year at thrift stores and garage sales.
IMG_4133.JPG

I like to group things by theme whenever possible. This year, my turquoise dresser in the living room is the Ghost Host. The spot for spooks. The place for poltergeists. I've collected the ceramic ghosts over the years and the Ouija board I picked up at a yard sale for .25 about 20 years ago.

IMG_4137.JPG

The silhouette of the haunted house and trick-or-treating children is just an old wooden tabletop that I painted 3 years ago. My daughter had just gotten her first dog and I put the dog in the painting, right behind my daughter, the little girl in the cat costume.

The witch doll was a find at a craft festival in NC two years ago. She's handmade out of polymer clay. I was working across from the artist's booth, serving up hotdogs to raise money for the VFW at that festival so the artist gave me a great deal on the doll - $16. The wooden houses came from yard sales over the summer. They both light up, but I usually don't bother with that. $4 each.

IMG_4134.JPG

I love this dresser! It took me 3 solid weeks to paint, but it was worth every moment. It's also in my living room and this year, it's displaying a few lenticular photos and pumpkins. I picked up the image-changing photos at Dollar Tree a few years ago and framed them. IMG_4135.JPG A Close up of the items on the American Flag dresser.

IMG_4139.JPG

I love love love these BIG haunted houses! Whenever I seen these plastic doll houses at garage sales, I'll pick them up if the price is right. I think they're about $75 to $100 if you buy them new. All of these were $1 to $2 each. A can of black spray paint, some pieces of spooky cloth and dollar store skeletons, and it's a haunted neighborhood! The scale of these are impressive in person.

IMG_4141.JPG

I hope you've enjoyed my Halloween 2017 tour. We have just moved into this house so I haven't had a lot of time to decorate this year. Next year will be even better.

~ Allison

Sort:  

An interesting attribute for Halloween!

Thank you @lilia737 ! 🎃