Jewelry - Trees of Life!

in #handmade6 years ago

20180318_153838.jpg

I learned a new trick! Haha! I'm now making Trees of Life! Each one takes me about 2 hours to make right now. Actually, here are photos of the very first one I made...and then took apart and remade because I didn't like it.

20180316_195904.jpg

20180316_195920.jpg

I didn't like that the branches weren't full and looked so twiggy.

20180316_203804.jpg

20180316_211701.jpg

20180316_224014.jpg

20180317_002157.jpg

I really like making these. After I posted them on my FB, I got 5 requests for custom trees with birthstones! I go to the city tomorrow to gather the supplies I need to fill these orders.

Here are a few more I've made that are actually for sale in my Etsy shop, Stoned Hill Creations.

20180318_154020.jpg

20180318_154139.jpg

20180318_154259.jpg

20180318_154532.jpg

20180318_154649.jpg

So that's what I've been up to. I can't wait to start on more of these. Like I said, supplies tomorrow! Yay!
Thanks for looking!
Stoned Hill Creations

Sort:  

Once you get used to making them, it won’t take you 2 hours to make each one! I’ve made them before and it gets quicker each time. Good job!!

Thanks so much for the encouragement! It is getting easier as I go. I seem to get distracted between branches though and that adds a lot of time to them. Haha!

Your post was featured in the weekly Friday DIY Day Curation post

CONGRATULATIONS!

THAT'S SO COOL!!! Thanks so much, @goldendawne!

I haven't really tried serious wire work like that myself yet. I am tempted to try that, or perhaps a dreamcatcher design, eventually.

Dreamcatchers are my next thing I'm hoping to learn. That and wire weaving!

Well, if you like dreamcatchers, I have a story for you! The post is about 15 months past payout, so I trust you won't mind the link.

these are beautiful! and what patience you have to create them, wow! the second to last one might be my favourite, the colours are so SPRINGTIME and bright and happy :)

You are getting so good at those sweetie! I love them and I'm going to get one of the green and orange ones soon!

Thanks so much, @rockchickjen! :)

I like the copper color one with the green stones in it, that one really appeals to me.

Thank you! That was one of my favorites too. It sold right away. I had to make another to replace it, though I haven't gotten around to posting it yet.

These are so cool!!! I love them!

Thanks, beautiful!

Such beautiful work and so much talent! I love these!

Thank you, @walkerland! I appreciate that!

Hey ya! Looking good.

One of my bestest friends in all the world has been making these for over 20 years. I have one she made for me, AND I inherited the one she made for my mother. Treasured items.

And that friend now runs a super successful mail order bead site. I'm not crass enough to dump the link here, but you can reply if you wish. She has supplies and massive tutorials AND no running to town...

Thanks for a wonderful post and best of luck with your new business. I hope you make a million!!

Thanks so much, @bigtom13! I would actually love that link if you don't mind. Right now I have to drive almost 2 hours to get beads. :(

I love the purple one the best - How do you tie the ends without them being too lumpy? Do the stones come with holes in them already? I'm sorry for the questions but I'm fascinated :)

I don't mind questions at all! Ask away! I just wrap the wire and then tuck the ends in. I don't tie them. The stones already have the holes in them. They're called chip beads. I'm actually looking into getting a drill press so I can drill holes in the native stones I polish and be able to use them for things like this. Thanks!

Wow, these are awesome! Great pictures, I always wondered how to go about the tree of life wire wrapping. We will check out your etsy. Keep up the good work.

Brandon

Thanks so much, @aktinyhome! Do you make jewelry too?

We do! IMG_1352.JPG

Very pretty!!! I like the color and stone combination!

I don't feel brave enough to make jewelry, so am always amazed by what other people produce! This are truly lovely, and such a great idea.

Honestly, I would never have guessed I would get so much enjoyment from this. It's a lot of fun!
Thank you, @scribblingramma!

I really like those! The purple one and the one that looks like peridot are my favorites!

Thanks so much, @violetmed!

I love the green one. You are so clever to be able to make these trees of life. Sounds like business is picking up. I am so happy for you. Don’t forget about your pals here on steemit. 🐓🐓

I could never forget you guys! Thanks so much for your encouragement! I hope I get more time to Steem now that I've gotten caught up with orders. :)

Oh so glad to see you. Don’t know how you manage it all. Jewelry, upholstery, kids, cows, chickens etc. You are a force to be reckoned with. 🐓🐓

I love them! The multi colored ones look like fall, my favorite!

Those are my favorites too! They have Indian Agate and Moss Agate in them. I can't wait to get more stones tomorrow!

Congratulations @hethur240! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!