Back to Hogwarts

in #harrypotterlast year

Ten years ago we visited the Warner Brothers Studio to see the sets, costumes and props of the Harry Potter movies. It is not too far from us. I have to admit I was very impressed. Actually walking into the great hall and seeing what goes into the 'magic' is impressive. I really like all the technical stuff like the models and concept art. We were back a few years later when they added Platform 9 3/4. Yesterday was our third visit and there are more new things to see.

Lobby

They have done a lot of development there since our last visit. As you walk in you are greeted by the Gringotts' dragon. Behind that is the food hall, which is also new. One our first visit there was minimal catering at the ourdoor section half way around.

Tea time

We started our visit with afternoon tea in a roped off area of the food hall. I had the vegan option and it was pretty good, speaking as someone who has had their share of afternoon teas. It was partly themed with a chocolate frog on the brownie and a biscuit shaped like a witch's hat.

Yule ball

A lot of the first section is the same as last time with various sets and costumes. A few things have been moved around. They currently have some demonstrations of effects techniques such as green screen. They still have the green screen broomstick rides, but we have done that before and paid for the photos.

Spiders in the forest

The first new set was the Forbidden Forest that has giant spiders descending from above. Not something for the arachnophobes.

Catching the bus

There is now a big cafe by the outdoor part where you can get your butterbeer. The Knight Buss and Durseley house are still there.

Mandrake

They now have a greenhouse where you can pull up a mandrake root to hear it scream.

Creatures

I love the creature shop. The detail is amazing and I pity those who spend hours getting made up. Some items were not even used such as a werewolf suit that has stilts as it just did not work. They have to invent ways to bring things to life.

Goblins

They created lots of goblins for the bank, some based on real people.

Gringotts

The biggest new set is the bank. It is all fake marble and plastic chandeliers, but it looks real enough on screen. There are so many little details that may only be seen for seconds, but someone had to make them anyway.

Vault

The bank vault is also new. They had to make many thousands of pieces of 'treasure' to fill it up.

Bank crash

When the bank gets trashed by the dragon they needed to build a whole new set so it looked like real columns had collapsed. They have a screen and smoke effects so you see the dragon come through breathing fire. It was enough to startle small children and some adults.

Hogwarts

On my first visit the massive model of the school blew me away and it is still impressive. They projected the fireworks made by the Weasley boys.

Shop

Eventually you emerge in the gift shop and it is massive. You could spend a fortune on anything from pencils to a replica broomstick. I am sure it is bigger than last time and I do not remember the sweet shop. We did buy a few items. It can be an expensive day out. Entry is about £50 with various optional extras such as photos. You may well want some food and drinks as it takes a few hours to see it all. We got there for tea about 4pm and left at nearly 10pm.

If you enjoyed the movies then I would really recommend a visit if you can get there. It is just outside London with buses to take you from the station. I had a great time even though I had been before, but then there were plenty of new things to see. We shall have to see if they add anything else.

Sort:  

Looks great I think I just added this to my Uk wish list of places to visit in the future! @consciouscat ? It might end up a really busy trip, I would love to add a few parkruns and hike a few of the mountains as well.
How busy was it and is it a full day to get around it all.
!BEER

We have plenty of parkruns, so you should be near one wherever you go.

They limit how many people go in at a time, so it doesn't get too crowded. You can take your time anyway. You may need at least 3 hours, but I'm not sure you would stay all day.

!BEER


Hey @new.things, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

That looks fun!
I've never been a great fan of HP, but maybe I should give it another go.. 🤔
I bet you enjoyed all the technical stuff!
Who were the real people you recognised then, I wonder?
I might go there myself sometime, but I sure need to watch the films first.. haha

I will watch all the movies again some time. They are aimed at kids, by the later ones get quite dark. It would be cool to do a similar tour for other movies, but I'm not aware of anything on this scale. We've been to a few Doctor Who exhibitions.

Ooooooooh. How fun! @new.things when we eventually get to the UK, I'd love to go check this out!

You really should go. You'll love it.

!BEER

🧙‍♂️🪄🧹 I'm sure that we would, I mean will! !LOL

I hate Russian dolls
they’re so full of themselves.

Credit: marshmellowman
@steevc, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

(3/8)
Have you tried the !gif !lolz !meme combo? It is a wall of fun!


Hey @consciouscat, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Jealous. My wife and I really wanted to go there when we were living in Europe but we never made it. Still on our bucket list for when we visit the UK.

That looks pretty neat. I read the first two Harry Potter books to my kids. Maybe three.... not sure. The last we read had a younger version of the big bad guy trapped in a diary or some such. Was that the second or the third? At any rate, right after finishing them my oldest was in love with all things Harry Potter. That has faded now since we haven't read the books in awhile, but I'm sure when we revisit them his fandom will also return.

We read most of them to the kids. That's precious time with them. I liked doing the voices. They are grown up now, but still into it.

I would love to visit this place, Harry potter is famous in the people of all ages. I'm suggesting my wife to watch it together. Also the twilight saga.

I've not seen Twilight. I do like fantasy films though.

You must watch it, I'm pretty sure, you are gonna fell in love with the movie.

This is Leavesden? You must like HP a lot to go back for the third time!

I worked in Watford for three months previously, the darkest period of my whole working life, so Watford gives me real bad memories, not a place I'd like to go back

I'm not sure I've ever explored Watford and I don't expect it's that magical. I think anyone could enjoy the tour.

!BEER


Hey @livinguktaiwan, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Looks like you had a fun day out.
My grandkids were very impressed with the whole thing. It must be magical to see something like this as a child.

I was supposed to be with them on the visit but there was a foul up somewhere?

I'll go next time maybe?

I imagine it's mind-blowing for young kids, but adults can enjoy it too. You should go.

Yep my son and his wife are harry potter fans and they loved it.
I'll go on the next visit for sure. 📷👍🏼

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1817.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wao its looks so beautiful and amazing. When a person goes to such places and sees the things made, he is more happy, the way we see that there are very special things made in it that people will be very happy to see.

Wao, this is a place I would love to visit. Everything in there are super amazing and are jaw dropping. It worth visiting

Good trip 🙌👏

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @new.things for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @new.things for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @steevc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal