My Hashflare account, Profitability Calculations, Maintenance Fees, Break-Even period?

in #hashflare6 years ago (edited)

I've been wanting to invest some money into cloud mining and I've seen a lot of people claiming that these sites are nothing but Ponzi schemes and scams, but I've also seen a lot of good and positive feedback from people claiming they've made good profit out of cloud mining on Hashflare. I decided the only way to find out the truth about this is to go ahead and buy some Hashrate on Hashflare, and that's what i did. I Paid $49 for 0/35 TH/s of SHA-256 which i think is a good amount to start with and to carry out my own experiments.

Here's an overview of my account:

Total investment (5 Dec 2017): $49 ~ 0.0043 BTC
Hashrate type Purchased: SHA-256
Total Hashrate purchased: 0.35 TH/s
Maintenance Fee: $0.0035 / 10 GH/s / 24 Hour

Now it's day 1 and my purchase has been registered on my dashboard. Today i received my first payout of 0.00006476 BTC, and 0.00001053 BTC was deducted as maintenance fee giving me a balance of 0.0005423 BTC at the end of day 1.

Based on the above numbers, on this particular day i calculated maintenance fees to be at 16.3% of my daily payout. Now the tricky part here is that when BTC prices fluctuate, the maintenance fee in USD($) will remain the same at $0.0035 / 10 GH/s /24 H, but the actual maintenance fee will be different on each day if you're calculating in terms of BTC and not USD. For the sake of experimentation, i will be noting down the maintenance fees on a daily basis to get a better idea of how much maintenance fees I'm actually paying in terms of percentage.

Assuming Bitcoin price will not fluctuate (which it will), and assuming a constant maintenance fee of 16.3%(which it wont be constant), i will break-even in 80.62 days. I used the BTC calculator on Coinwarz.com to do my calculations which you can find below. I used 16.3% in the pool fees section.

Calculations.JPG

Now that number can you give you a good estimate of how long you'll probably have to wait to break-even but its definitely not an accurate number as BTC prices will fluctuate. If BTC prices go up It will shorten the break-even period and if BTC prices drop it will result in a longer break-even period. I've created an excel file and I'm noting down my daily payouts + maintenance fees every day for the next 90 days to see how long it will actually take to break-even.

I will be updating this post once a week. Let me know if you'd like me to add anything else in the experiment and if i've missed anything out.

In the meantime if you are thinking of joining Hashflare you can use my affiliation link below to sign up and buy hasrate: https://hashflare.io/r/224ACBE8

Best Regards,
Med

Sort:  

Congratulations @medsz85! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @medsz85, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
1664 6722 3800 8937
4444 3990 2733 7537
9071 6454 1977 7392
7294 3564 1872 7958

Congratulations @medsz85! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @medsz85! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!