Don’t Just Sit There, Start Hiking Kilimanjaro

in #haveyoubeenhere2 years ago

2016-09-16 09.55.13.jpg

Mount Kilimanjaro, with its three volcanic cones, Kibo, Mawenzi, and Shira are dormant volcanos in Tanzania Africa.

Hiking Kilimanjaro is Exciting but also dangerous

Before we arrived in Moshi Town, we had book our hike with a tour agency as it wasn't allowed to do a hike on your own without a tour guide.

Our Group consists of:

  • My husband and I
  • 2 tour guides — one for me and one for my husband — insane!
  • 1 chef
  • 1 waiter
  • 6 people to set up the bed, tentage as well as to carry food that can - last 7 days.

We were like King and Queen on the road with so many helpers.

2016-09-16 07.18.50.jpg

It was a dream to hike what many were called Kilimanjaro which has an elevation of **5,895 **meters above sea level.

2016-09-13 06.38.11-2.jpg

Kilimanjaro's hiking path was super dusty in many areas, especially the final peak which is called the Uhuru.

Uhuru is the highest and the last point on top of Kilimanjaro.
Depending on which route you take, the camp toilet mostly has no water to flash off the pooh or pee after doing your business.

2016-09-15 11.37.44.jpg

The toilet in each camp was actually a big hole in the soil ground.
I was thinking, with so many tourists, dumping and peeing, surely, the place got stinks so badly that it breaks your nostrils.

It was super smelly that you lost your appetite to eat and drink. This was making me sick on the second day.

There is no way for you to shower, so don’t even think about it.
I have had to suffer breathing difficulties as the elevation is getting higher and higher.

2016-09-12 09.52.13.jpg

Before our climb, we stayed and relax at a decent cottage in the town of Moshi. It was a great moment to mingle with everyone at the cottage as almost 99 percent of guests came just to hike Kilimanjaro.
I can recall people coming from India, South Africa, the UK, Germany, Netherlands, and Singapore.

2016-09-13 15.45.33.jpg

Almost everyone I saw was so fit. Some were really in the great physique.

Everyone has their own reasons why they hike Kilimanjaro when it is so dangerous as people died during hiking.

To me, I want to prove that an Asthmatic person can do what they want in life and that things are possible if you want to which many people are afraid of.

So Don’t Just Sit There, Start Hiking Kilimanjaro

My experience was never easy. My hubby and I took the Rongai Route where they said it’s not as stiff as the Machame.

2016-09-16 09.54.57.jpg

Rongai was indeed a very scenic route but not an easy one. We had 7 hike days in total.

Each day, we go and walk long hours from one base camp to another until we reach Kibo Hut where the final campsite is located prior to Climbing the Uhuru Peak- the highest point of Kilimanjaro.

The purpose of hiking up and down the mountain, again and again, is to climatize and prepare the body that it is going to be very high altitude soon.

But it was the opposite for me. The long hours of many days were a killer and were so tiring!

kilimanjaro elvie.jpeg

On the 6th day of hiking, I was just about to give up. I was too exhausted and I was unable to breathe properly.

2016-09-14 13.09.19.jpg

I could not tell anyone or tell my husband because I do not want to worry him and that he may give up and quit because of my condition.

2016-09-13 10.38.21.jpg

Kibu Hut — the Final Campsite

We arrived at the final campsite at 4 p.m. African time and I was so restless. I was having a fever, was vomiting and I was struggling to breathe.

The wind was so strong that the set-up tent wanting to go with the wind and the sound of the wind was kind of scary.

KILIKILI.jpg

There was a hut that cost $100 for rental and it was empty. So we decided to rent the hut all by ourselves as our team decided to remain in the tent they had set up earlier.

It has been hours of not eating and could not drink. I felt suffocated when I drink some water. My pack bag has a mini water tank and a tube directly accessible to zip some water easily.

The terrible smells from dumping areas hit my nose and never goes away. I hated myself for it. Why can’t I just get over it with?
Inside the hut and above the bed were so many handwritten words, words of motivation. Sad words. Those words were written by so many people that were sleeping in that bed before.

By reading those words it affects me mentally. I was tense and too tired to sleep while my husband snores on the other side of the bunk beds.
Will I make it to the top of Kilimanjaro? I asked. What will happen if I die along the way? There is no helicopter to call to save me as it is impossible to land such an aircraft.

kilimanjaro markus.jpeg

I was thinking…
I want to go back out and I want to turn back hiking down not going up. But the other side of me says, No way!

So final moment came to hike the highest point of Kilimanjaro
We began walking and hiking in the darkest night with only stars and the shining moon watching over us as we walk slowly.
It was planned that we shall hike on the full moon.
It was a pretty night.

We even had to turn off our headlights as the moon was so bright lighting our path. As our step sliding back down due to the ground with only gravel and sands that it was so dry to walk on.
Some tour guides were singing local songs.

2016-09-16 09.02.39.jpg

Many hikers were puking, throwing up. I heard them and I tried hard not to do the same.

Before you can reach Uhuru peak, either you submit first to Gilman’s point or Estella’s point.

Gilman’s or Stella’s points are the second-highest point before Uhuru.
Arrived at Uhuru pick 9:13 am, trying to breathe as I was totally out and really going to die right where I was standing.

Before this hike, I trained heavily. Cardio exercise, and climbed Malaysian mountain in between.

But I think, the side effect of Altitude medicine was killing my body. I was so weak. I was taking Diamox. A tablet for altitude sickness. I should not have taken it. I could not compare as it was my first.

I could be wrong about the Diamox Pills. I experienced tingling feelings with my fingers and feet. I was trying to breathe so hard and I did not experience it before.
It was bright and sunny when we arrived at the top of Kilimanjaro.

kilimanjaro elvie 2.jpeg

The Glaciers were melting
The glaciers were beautiful on the side. The blue’s colors with glittering ice as it hits the sun looking like a diamond. The glaciers that have been here for years are starting to melt.

On our path, it was dry stones, gravels, and an empty forest. No plants are growing anymore. I remember many people were hiking with a small oxygen tank and breathing normally.

I said to myself, I will have that oxygen tank when I want to climb high mountains again. I also remember it was a flat walk from Stella’s Point to Uhuru Peak.

We had a great time at the peak and I was motivated again and feeling alive.

kilimanjaro peak.jpeg

WE DID IT! WE DID IT! WE DID IT!
We arrived at the highest mountain in Tanzania Africa called Kilimanjaro!
It felt so good! It really felt good! I did it! I didn’t die!

Conclusion:
Bring yourself a super warm sleeping bag as it was really cold. The sleeping bag from the agency may not be warm enough for you.
A windbreaker jacket is a must.

The face mask is a must to have to cover your face from dust.
Loads of Wet tissues to keep clean.

Be fit, do not underestimate any mountain you climb or hike.
Try not to take altitude sickness medicine. Just be ready and be fit.

kilimanjaro group.jpeg

You will not have an appetite to eat really. But try to keep something to give you more energy.

I would recommend you to go up for 3 days hike and not longer. The longer you do, the more tired you become. I would do it straight to the peak if I have to do it again.

Lastly, be kind to the helpers that assist you. Give a little extra cash if you are happy with their service.

I hope you like the trip with us to Kilimanjaro

All images listed here were taken by me or my camera.
This is my real experienced Hiking the Tallest Mountain of Tanzania Africa.

Thank you for reading❤️

All images presented here is taken or were taken using my camera from one of our group and I am the sole owner.

Elvie is a professional photographer. Self-taught Digital Artist. Blogger / Vlogger/Business Owner

coffee.gif

I am on OPENSEA
I am on Rarible
Connect with me on Twitter
Check out my GIFs on Kofi

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I will vote and delegate HP. Thank you @ecency for being there