HAPPY ALOHA FRIDAY, EVERYONE

in #hawaii6 years ago (edited)

HAPPY ALOHA FRIDAY, EVERYONE


http://www.residekauai.com/blog/reyn-spooner-to-open-store-shops-kukuiula-kauai/

Many businesses allow aloha attire on Fridays. We call it Aloha Friday. Nowadays, Aloha shirts (aka "Hawaiian shirts") are less popular with the younger generation. In the days of old, however, they were standard uniform for every mainstream male, young and old. Reyn Spooner and Tori Richards Aloha shirts were status symbols. All the male executives on Bishop Street (our business area) wore them.


https://www.toririchard.com/mens-shirts?p=3

Sort:  

I like the Hawaiian shirts you posted, but the ones in my mind are too flashy for me to ever wear!

I went through the Hawaiian shirt phase. I haven't worn one in years. Now it's all flannels and solid colors.
I'm boring.

The ones people in Hawaii really wear are subdued. The gaudy, bright-colored ones you are thinking of are those made and promoted for the tourist trade. The shirts I posted are representative of the ones people who make this place their home really wear.

I miss Aloha Friday...