The Spitting Cave in Hawaii Kai

in #hawaii6 years ago (edited)

If you're looking for a great spot for date night in Hawaii (or just a really cool place to go) then the Spitting Cave is a great spot that a local showed us!
We were promised an amazing sunset whilst sitting on top of a small cliff face, and a hole in the rocks that spits out the waves. Hence the name, Spitting Cave.

With our luck the tide was very low so there was no cave spitting, and it became so overcast that there was no colourful display. Not one shade of pink was seen in the sky. You would think that this would be disappointing - but the spot is so beautiful and we had lots of corn chips, guacamole, and red wine to keep us entertained. See below - one happy chappy.

With every wave that hits the cliff you feel it like thunder. It truly is a beautiful experience. Coming from the eastern suburbs of Sydney Australia, I live on a cliff. So this really reminded me of home and cured my home sickness for one night at least.
After eating our weight in chips and soaking in the view we went home very happy and content.
And we can't wait to go back!
Highly recommend this spot to anyone in Honolulu, its a 15 minute drive out of Waikiki.

See you in my next post!
Olivia x

Sort:  

I just gave you an up vote for this beautiful post

Hey, thanks! :)

Next time with an amazing sunset!
Was it your Sunday tradition?

Hey! Not this weekend, it rained all Saturday and Sunday :( so it was a Tuesday night haha

Looks awesome Olivia! I hope to visit Hawaii and Australia some day! :)

They are both beautiful islands! Australia will always be home, but so grateful to live in Hawaii this year!

So jealous! lol I have several friends and family that have gone to Hawaii, I just haven't been yet. haha And it is not like it is expensive for me to fly there. I live in Arizona. haha

Haha depends! When I look at flights to the mainland sometimes they are crazy expensive!

For example right now I can fly from Phoenix to Kauai for $439 roundtrip. seems pretty good. haha Honolulu is more expensive though. haha some day I will travel there for sure! haha