You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Request for comments: HBD stabilization DHF proposal

in #hbd3 years ago

The advantage is a local stable coin that doesn't require going offchain and thru exchanges, etc., with all the issues that entails.

Sort:  
  • fully agree. Would be great to see a more stable HBD, for someone like myself who has their entire net worth in crypt0, stablecoins are a very valuable and useful tool. I believe as crypt0 continues to mature the demand for stablecoins will increase as people want to stay "out of the system" and still have the ability to use local stable currency... Right now because HBD is not as stable as I would like, my current go to is DAI.

It's still a taxable event in most places, going from HBD to HIVE, or vice versus, that is, regardless of whether it's done onchain or not. As @blocktrades says, the only advantage is internal, otherwise it's the equivalent of having fiat on the blockchain (to each his or her own I guess, but that kind of defeats the purpose of being in crypto to begin with, I would think). Was much more interesting pre-2018, but now it's only an "easy way" to calculate DAO funding (which could always be done on a theoretical basis and ultimately paid out in HIVE).

The problem I see with paying only in Hive, is that there will only be more liquid Hive and there will be more inflation which would make the price of Hive lose even more value.

you get it @encrypt3dbr0k3r 100%! DAI is better and it works because of the loan mechanic. For that reason, it is stable and works well. It can also better scale as HDB, that's the reason I think we need a loan mechanic on Hive to lock up Hive and create HDB.

That's a pretty limited "advantage", but I imagine you guys have thoroughly gone over the cost-benefits. Kind of seems like a dead-weight to me, but, again, like I always say, I'm not here to convince anyone of anything, just to share my thoughts and opinions. There must be other advantages that you haven't mentioned . . .

Hi blocktrades, Thanks for this reply