You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Request for comments: HBD stabilization DHF proposal

in #hbd3 years ago (edited)

First of all, great to see you back. If such proposal would be made I would approve just because I would trust knowledge, expertise, and experience of someone like yourself. And it does makes sense to make HBD work as it was supposed to.

However, I have few reservations that go beyond HBD being pegged. I like it to be pegged at a lower end and guarantee $1 USD but not too convinced about it being capped at $1 USD. Let me explain why.

If HBD is meant to be pegged to $1 USD in the first place, free market should decided that, and we shouldn't be scared of it and intervene with haircuts. 1 HBD should be worth of $1 of Hive coins. It sounds simple. But with interventions like haircuts we try to secure and preserve the Hive and the chain. I have heard the arguments for it. But still, as a stakeholder I wouldn't mind my Hive stakes diminish to make HBD work as it is supposed to.

Next, unreasonable price hikes of HBD or previously steem did prove to be helpful in making Hive(previously steem) more attractive for engagement and being more active. It simply paid more. Over the years I have come to understating that crypto is unreasonable. Perhaps these unreasonable spikes in HBD price are good for Hive ecosystem?

Bottomline, I would like to see 1 HBD to be worth at least 1 USD. But I wouldn't go as far as limiting its move upwards. Because eventually free market will do its work to balance things out and higher HBD prices will lead to higher Hive prices. That has been proven with historic price movements.

Lastly, perhaps it would serve better for Hive if content rewards are finally moved to a layer 2 or different token. That has also been proven to be more efficient and successful (eg LEO). This would remove the sell pressure from Hive, I believe.

GREAT TO SEE YOU BACK!

P.S. I wouldn't even mind removing HDB completely at this point.

Sort:  

Thank you and I'm not familiar with LEO but I would be in favor of moving content rewards to a second layer as well. To me that is the clear thing that should be moved out of core blockchain because it is far too complicated (risks crashing the chain given so many possibilities for bugs in complicated logic, which has happened before), it adds too much bloat to the chain for the value added (particularly when there is spam and mass vote bots), and putting it in the blockchain where it can't be changed without a hard fork is very limiting.