You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Request for comments: HBD stabilization DHF proposal

in #hbd3 years ago

I don't buy the argument that it is "complicated" and I never did.

There is no question Hive is complicated, new users are overwhelmed with RC, voting power, powering up, curation, and all the nuances of Hive. I know people who have been here for 2+ years and still don't understand it.

You don't just buy the token for speculation and wait for a good time to sell. You have to be an author, curator, downvote abuse, to maintain your relative stake or you investment dilutes against those who are doing the same. I don't know of any other chain that has these many rules and actions required to "protect your investment".

While HBD isn't complicated, everything on Hive is as a whole. That is what I was saying. We are not exactly signing up people in droves and when we do we generally lose them fairly quickly due to it being complicated, drama, or they feel like they are not getting their fair share. We can certainly work on complicated, and it is really something we should address.

I think we really could do well to leave the "let's get rid of SBD and have one token" trope back in 2016 like all of Ned's other "great" ideas.

I'm personally on the fence, like I said earlier I was a big supporter of SBD/HBD and saw value in it, but now I don't know, we just can't seem to keep it stable, Hive is more of a stable coin than HBD has been. I understand this proposal would potentially help stabilize it more, but I also think having only one token could be much simpler for getting people interested. I'm not really 100% for either one at this point and why I was curious how you felt. I feel if we can't keep it stable, it just gets in the way. If we can, it offers significant value. Even 5% fluctuation which is fairly normal on a good day is a lot as a business.

Sort:  

I agree Hive is complicated. I don't think HBD (or SBD) before it has anything to do with that. Compared with the list of things you mentioned and probably others, in terms of complication, it's just nothing.

Even 5% fluctuation which is fairly normal on a good day is a lot as a business.

I agree that really isn't the goal, its more that it was originally quite flawed and it will take some steps to get it working better.