You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inner Healing and Radical Self Honesty

in #healing6 years ago (edited)

I remember receiving the accolades for "good grades" when I was younger, and how people were impressed with the fact that I graduated with high honors years ago. However, I didn't achieve that for myself, I spent that time living up to someone else's idea of what I should do as you mentioned.

I would rather live a life that is authentic, doing what I love and feel passionate about, I have always loved to write and proclaimed to my mother in my youth that I wanted to become a writer, only to be met with "Writers don't make good money." I honestly don't think money is the be-all-and-end-all. Sure, we need it in order to live but it is a tool, not everything.

Steemit gives me the ability to write and have other people read my writing and reward me if they desire. It helps me to know that someone appreciated my sincere thoughts and keeps me motivated to write more. Right now, I don't have another platform that offers me the same.

I agree the internal work is truly the beginning in unravelling all of the lies we've been taught since early childhood. As we heal, we're better able to have more fulfilling relationships with others and actually enjoy the act of living instead of going through the motions. It's certainly a process but it is worth it to ourselves.

Sort:  

I honestly don't think money is the be-all-and-end-all. Sure, we need it in order to live but it is a tool, not everything.

Unfortunately true, until it remains the world religion...

Yes, Steemit is a great platform, it takes some building up, but I think it's worth it anyway. You're right, no other platforms allow you what this one does.

I'm thankful for Steemit. I hope that one day other people will see the value in it and the community will grow exponentially rather spending so much time on platforms that truly aren't benefiting them but rather playing a role in surveillance and the police state.