Reasons Why People With Mental health Don't Get Help

in #health6 years ago

This is about why people with mental illness do not get help.
anxiety-2878777_960_720.jpg
-facilities do not take their insurance
Most mental health places might not take the person's insurance. And therapy can be expensive.
-Ignorant doctors
Not all therapists are understanding. My old doctor as very understanding, she listened, she was nice. Then she left and the place gave me a new 'doctor' who just invalidates me, compares me to others and just doesn't understand my feelings.
-No parental support
if you are under 18 or whatever the age is in your country ( I am from America and it's 18) a parent or guardian has to check you in. Most parents don't 'believe in mental health' and therefore don't think their child needs help. That can play a role.
There are a ton of reasons. But I feel these three are the major reasons.
The mental health system needs to improve.

Sort:  

Agreed. Some parents do not believe in mental illness and some don't know how to deal with their child who is suffering from mental illness or depression

Yeah. I am in a group for mental illness and someone said their folks would tell them 'get over it' and all that BS

I still assume that people don't help you, because there isn't any benefit for them. If they don't get anything back from it, they just see you as a problem to be ignored. That is why I think they don't help people with problems.