You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spearmint and other Herbs I use for PCOS and Endometriosis

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Yeah I was told I have IBS, for me it’s Endo warped around my intestines. It has the same reactions on the body, then I take magnesium. It tears up the belly, but helps my heart.
My illnesses are invisible so it’s hard for family to remember or even understand that it isn’t a food fad. They are of the opinion it isn’t there because they don’t see or feel it.
This post helped remind me and my husband how picky and sucky my diet is.
I try my best, it’s not always easy or cheap with all the things I am not allowed to eat.
Thanks for the reminder to look on the bright side and don’t forget to take care you too ✌️💗

Sort:  

Thing is, soooooo much importance goes to "food as a lifestyle" and we learn from a very young age to appreciate easy/ tasty food and to use food as a reward system (induuuuuulge, you deserve it!). Then on top of that "experts" tell us what to eat because they know better than we do what works for us. (Hello food pyramid. Never did much good to me)
But food is just what it is : a fuel to keep the body going. We focus wayyyyyy too much on it as a source of personal reward/ lifestyle / way to define ourselves if that makes any sense. Do we ever think about the other ways we feed our body? The air we breathe? The ideas we expose our brains to? etc... Food is a worldwide obsession but there is so much more to life than what is on our plate ! lol :)