Let us get introduced to the world of Lentils/beans/pulses

in #health7 years ago

Hi , I have something to share with every food enthusiast. This is regarding food habits and being a part of Indian culture. This post is directly not related to recipe but in a way it is. This is not an advertisement and doesn’t gives me any economic benefit.
So here is my story:
When I moved to Europe in 2016, my Indian taste buds had to massively suffer in an attempt to adapt to the changes. Since I cud not manage time due to my work pressure and also the fact that I could not afford a help to cook for me I found this transition little difficult .
I also try and avoid red meat which made the transition even more difficult whereas on the other side my husband who loves pork, lamb was comfortably placed. Fresh water fish is almost impossible to find until I located an Indian store that imports them in frozen form, from Bangladesh.
NOW THE MAIN REASON I AM WRITTING THIS HERE:
I noticed the consumption of Meat (Prok+Beef+lamb+goat) is massive here and via my local friends I realized that their exposure to the variety of pulses, lentils/daal and the art to cook them is very limited.
Some of my colleagues are even surprised at the huge amount of vegetarian population in India. I keep telling them that mother nature blessed us with a lot of options as in grains, pulses , beans and vegetables. So it is easier for us to be vegetarians or vegans. But thanks to globalization these pulses/grains/beans are no longer limited to the Indian subcontinents only. Most of the lentils are found in the supermarkets here. All you have to do is know how to make them.

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-31 at 8.31.52 AM.jpeg
A REQUEST FOR THOSE WHO HAVE AN INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT it would be great if you upload pictures or videos when you make daal or pulses or lentils and tag me @deb.rhea and also use # tag as in #lentils.

This will help in the cause of bringing awareness about consuming lentils, pulses ,beans and will also emphasis on how massively we use lentils and pulses as a part of Indian daily diet. If you are willing you may share your recipe too.
As my first recipe I made masoor dal. Its nothing fancy, typically home made everyday daal.

https://www.facebook.com/myMarketingCurry/videos/281527362341419/

India is not about oily greasy food. We incorporate superfoods in way of our daily life cooking and we inherit the art of cultivating and cooking these superfood packed with goodness of nature from our ancestors.

Sort:  

I was hoping for some good recipes with lentils :)

My wife does a kind of "lentil stew" from red lentils, tomatoes and vegetables and puts some cinnamon and other spices into it.

If you want to do something awesome, try to make a great lentil food, take pictures while you are cooking it and add the recipe on Steemit! I can imagine that could get someone excited.

On my way of doing that. Advice taken.....Thanks..
Following posts will cover my grandma`s recipe of cooking different varieties of lentils and pulses found in India and subcontinent.